Who boots in 64bit kernal?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mjsmke, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Just wondering how many of you actually boot in 64bit? If so what is the advantage? or dissadvantage?

    I have a few time but see no difference. All my apps work the same and the same amount of memory is being used either way.
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    64-bit mode is mainly for computers than have a lot of RAM (16 GB+) and servers.

    The only disadvantage is that some apps may not work in 64-bit kernel.
     
  3. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    MP 3.2 cuad (Mid 2010) boots 64-bit by default, Mac mini 2.66 (Late 2009) and MBP 2.4 15in (Late 2008) were set to boot 64-bit. On the mini and MBP 64-bit seems to be a little quicker, especially with Aperture 3 and PS CS5.

    Currently the mini is running Windows XP Pro only with no OS X installation so it's back to 32-Bit.
     
  4. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    When I boot in 64-bit it seems that some apps are a little snappier, e.g. I 've noticed the increase speed of encoding in Handbrake.
     
  5. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    No, the 64-bit kernel can support 32-bit applications fine - a nice thing about the Intel architecture.

    What the 64-bit kernel can't support is 32-bit extensions, and the reverse is also true.

    64-bit can matter when there's big numbers involved in calculations. It's faster to use a native 64-bit integer instead of multiple 32-bit integers or whatever method is used to represent "big numbers".
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    I run OS X Server, so that's the default. I can't tell the difference for most apps. The only difference is a lot of hardware didn't work in the beginning since there weren't any 64-bit drivers for them. Now it seems that has improved quite a bit.
     
  7. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #7
    I boot in 64-bit but can't really say I notice a difference. I only have 4GB of RAM but I run a few apps like lightroom which might run better in a 64-bit kernel. Really though I don't run many legacy apps so I don't have any backwards compatibility issues with 64-bit, so why not?

    Ruahrc
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I use the 32bit kernel since my SIL3132 based eSATA card doesn't work with 64bit.
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    You sure about that? I have a Si 3132 based eSATA card right now and it works great in 64-bit mode after getting the drivers.

    The drivers I have might be proprietary, but you can try it?

    It's the drivers for the Sonnet Tech E2P.
     
  10. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #11
    My 27" iMac i5 boots in 64-Bit mode. There is a small performance increase because your apps don't have to go through the 64-bit-to-32-bit conversion/compatibility layer - or whatever you want to call it.
     
  11. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I too have the Sonnet drivers, but if I recall my machine didn't recognise the drives attached to the card after booting in 64bit mode.

    Going to check it again when I'm back at home.
     
  12. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #13
    64 bit mode here. It makes a big difference for me.
     
  13. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #14
    I've run both. But if I want access to a USB drive (with NTFS) or access to my Boot Camp partition when Windows isn't running then I have to run 32 bit kernel. (For FUSE).
     
  14. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #15
    64bit mode on my MBP :)

    makes a great difference for me
     
  15. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #16
    64 here and no problems. i have 12meg of ram not 16. runs great.
     
  16. mjsmke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Thanks for the replies. Didnt expect this many so fast. Think i'll try booting in 64 bit and see how it goes for a while.
     
  17. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #18
    second box down or the first download you come to this is for a basic 2 port card ?
    their site might have other cards depending on what you have :) but its been working fine for me

    my BU is off the basic card that came with the box :) no issues

    http://www.siliconimage.com/support/searchresults.aspx?pid=32&cat=3&os=3
     
  18. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Those don't work with my card. I had a hard time testing several drivers when I got it, the Sonnet driver is the only one that works, not in 64bit kernel though.
    Right now I'm on the 64bit kernel and I remembered correct, the eSATA card shows up in the system prefs but the drives aren't mounted.

    Back to 32bit Kernel. :D
    Doesn't make any difference at all for my applications in terms of performance anyways, so that's no biggie.
     
  19. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #20
    bummer :)
     
  20. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    You always get what you paid for. :D
     
  21. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #22
    I boot in to 64-bit. All the apps I use run fine so I figured why not.
     
  22. malch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #23
    Can any of you tell me whether this e-SATA card is both 64-bit and 32-bit compatible? (I have to boot into 32-bit until Avid updates to 64-bit, so would like whatever card I get to be 64-bit, but backwards-compatible):

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/MXPCIE6GRS/

    Also, would it allow me to attach two SATA devices at the same time?

    thanks, malch
     
  23. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #24
    on of my automate plugins for PS does not run under 64 ? so I boot in 64 but right click on PS then just say boot in 32 bit mode when I need to run that photokit setup ?
    quick work around
     
  24. jerry333 macrumors member

    jerry333

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #25
    On my Mac Pro 8 core with 16GB RAM it makes a whopping difference in responsiveness. I hardly ever get beachballs since 64bit.
     

Share This Page