Who calibrates their Imac 27"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lukester, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. lukester macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #1
    Can you get the Lum.s levels down to the recommended 120 Lums. after calibration? What calibrator do you use?
     
  2. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
  3. plasticphyte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #3
    Give it time for someone to respond!

    The calibration software I use recommends setting the brightness/contrast controls (if you have any) to 50% or the level you use it at.
     
  4. joudbren macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    I've calibrated my screen. 120 lumens is easy on the new iMacs and if you set the brightness slider in the middle position it's approx. 120 even without calibrating.

    I'm using a new Spyder3 which just replaced my Spyder2. The Spyder2 is 5 year old technology and does not work properly with Wide Gamut displays or LED backlit displays of which the new iMacs have both. The Spyder3 seems to work exceptionally well so far and even pulled a slight blue colour cast out of the profile which I believe is from the LED backlighting.

    I've calibrated to standard defaults of 120/2.2/6500K and the display is simply stunning so far. I can drop it down to 110 lumens easily for print matching but I'm pretty happy so far with 120.

    You don't mention what software you are going to use so I'll recommend ColorEyes Display Pro which is now updated to work with Snow Leopard. ColorEyes gets kudos from a lot of Pros and works well. You can also buy their software with a Spyder3 for $299 U.S. from their website.

    http://www.integrated-color.com/cedpro/coloreyesdisplay.html

    They also have a user forum on their website which is a good source of support and you can download a trial of the software as well. Cheers!

    James
     
  5. Kronie macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    I calibrated mine. Didn't help the yellow tint.
     
  6. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    Yellow tint is why I haven't calibrated mine.
     
  7. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Location:
    RI
    #7
    I use eye1 D2 and it should work fine on all monitors.
    Is there an ongoing problem with all the I7 models or just some?
     
  8. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #8
    Just some. I suppose it's possible (if unlikely) that just some are problem-free since I obviously can only speak for my own machine. However, I can say unequivocally that not all i7's have problems. :)
     
  9. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #9
    Luckeeeeee.
     
  10. Sir Cecil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #10
    You're not alone in that. Apart from my mine which has no such tinge, I saw a near-neighbor's today. He received it at the end of last week. I'd already decided that if it had a yellow tint, I wouldn't draw his attention to it because he was entirely happy with what he was seeing. But there was not a trace of it anyway. Beautiful screen, like yours and mine and those of countless other happy users.

    Hopefully those with problems will get similarly good screens when their replacements arrive.
     
  11. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan

Share This Page