Who can post to this thread from the oldest Mac?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Lil Chillbil, May 11, 2017.

  1. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I guess in order to prove it you'd have to take a picture of the screen but its all for fun anways.



    Start it off i'm posting this from my 2012 Mac Pro (not exactly hard to beat this one)
     
  2. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    The biggest issue, I think, is going to be getting around the SSL encryption on this page.

    Firefox says that MR is using TLS 1.2, which probably has limited support on anything < 2013.

    http://caniuse.com/#feat=tls1-2

    I'll try loading this website on a '99 Tangerine iBook, MacOS 9.2.2 and see what happens. :)
     
  3. bopajuice macrumors 6502a

    bopajuice

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    #3
    I am typing this from a "Brand new" Mac mini that I just bought. It was last updated in 2014. Thats pretty old.
     
  4. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    I think we can rule MacOS 9.2 out due to TLS, unless someone's got some srs haxor skills or creativity or both.

    Classilla
    Classilla.jpg

    Internet Explorer 5
    Internet_Explorer.jpg

    Netscape Navigator 4.7
    Navigator.jpg
     
  5. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
  6. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    It looks like the earliest box we could get MR to work on would be a 10.4 Mac w/ TenFourFox.

    TFF looks like it has versions that go all the way back to G3 chips. The earliest machine, IIRC, that meets these requirements is the PowerMac G3 (Blue and White).
    --- Post Merged, May 11, 2017 ---
    How about this?

    SpaceJam.jpg

    (yes, this site is still online RN)
     
  7. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #7
    MDK would have also been acceptable. :p
     
  8. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Is this something recent?! :eek: I was able to access MacRumors no problem from 9.2 and Classilla on my Power Macintosh 8600 G4 Upgrade since I was last on it about 3-4 months ago o_O
     
  9. IHelpId10t5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #9
    I don't have any of my old hardware available to try myself but I have an idea for someone else to try. You could likely use a very old (e.g. 7.5.x) mac terminal application to telnet to a new macOS with TLS and the make the post using Lynx, cURL, or some other means!
     
  10. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/https-ssl-transition-in-progress.2030576/

    Looks like it really may have been that recent. Bummer this thread didn't pop up before. We could have really had some good fun with this! :oops::)

    That's what I'm thinking... this would be the only way to get something like this to work RN. It wouldn't even have to be another Mac. Any ol Linux server could act as an intermediary...

    Do you suppose there's any old SSH applications for classic around/made? I vaguely recall one named "BetterTelnet" but IDK if that would even work it what protocols that apply action supported. I guess I should go check macintosh garden... ;)
     
  11. Lil Chillbil thread starter macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I recall at the start of 2012 I was able to get 240p youtube videos to run on an imac g3 with no workarounds on Panther. Comfortably use a G5 and even run these forums relatively smooth on my 400 MHZ Sawtooth G4. Sadly the internet in general has gotten way too flashy.
     
  12. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #12
    The forum will fallback as far as TLS 1.0 but SSL is not available. Wonder when that changed? As @tevion5 says, there were screen shots in the collector's forum of the forum page in older browsers fairly recently.
     
  13. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #13
    I use to have no problem from my 9600 with 9.2.2/Classilla, but haven't tried in a while. I'll fire it up afterwhile.
     
  14. bunnspecial, May 14, 2017
    Last edited: May 14, 2017

    bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    It looks like Tiger or Leopard with a TFF or Leopard Webkit might be as far back as we can go.

    Of course, that's no issue for @tevion5 and I with our G4 upgraded 8600s, but that's not exactly a stock "old Mac." I can run Leopard on my 9600/200MP (thanks @LightBulbFun ) but TFF doesn't work.

    It's a shame Clasilla will no longer work.

    This is far from the oldest computer that will work, but at least here's a pre-Intel Mac screenshot taken today.

    Picture 19.png
    --- Post Merged, May 14, 2017 ---
    Around here, 2014 is new.

    My main computer is a 2012 MBP(the last and best pre-Retina model). It does everything I want it to do and has been plenty fast since I installed the SSD. I don't have any immediate replacement plans-I'm waiting on Apple to figure out where they're going and what they're trying to do with Portables.

    My office computer is a 2006(1,1) Mac Pro, albeit upgraded close to as much as that model can be upgraded. It could run El Capitan but not Sierra. I'm considering another Mac Pro, but it will be a 5,1(last generation "cheese grater") unless Apple wows us with the next generation of MP and I can afford it. Heck, the trash can is getting long in the tooth now.

    This was posted from the early '05 G5 screen capped above. It was typed on a c. 1990 Apple Extended Keyboard. I like the Extended Keyboard much better than the Extended II, albeit not as much as the IBM/Lexmark/Unicomp Model M. I have a Unicomp Spacesaver M on my work computer.
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    PowerBook Titanium from late 2001. I fully expect to be swiftly bettered!

    [​IMG]
     
  16. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #16
    Bettered you have been ;) typing this up from the G4 Pismo if I can get the PowerBook G3 Kanga to play ball I will do that if anyone beats the pismo :)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. MacTech68, May 19, 2017
    Last edited: May 19, 2017

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #17
    Wait - what ? Did I Miss something ? o_O :eek:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. PizzaBoxStyle, May 20, 2017
    Last edited: May 20, 2017

    PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #18
    Ahh... it appears that Classilla can't load the MR main site, but can load forums.macrumors.com...
    --- Post Merged, May 20, 2017 ---
    Checking in from a '99 tangerine colored iBook.

    Top that.

    Picture 8.jpg
     
  19. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #19
    Ahh - the main site only supports TLS 1.2 but the forum will fallback to TLS 1.1 or 1.0
     
  20. bunnspecial, May 20, 2017
    Last edited: May 20, 2017

    bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #20
    Posted from a G4-upgraded Lombard running 9.2.2. One with a G3 should still be fine, albeit somewhat slower.

    I'm using an Orinoco Gold WiFi card to connect-this is recognized natively as an Airport card, and I've seen some information that the original Airport cards were re-branded Orinoco. Interestingly enough, though, I had issues in Tiger on this computer with the card.

    I don't have Metronome installed to report the real speed of the processor, but it's 500mhz.

    Picture 1.png
    --- Post Merged, May 20, 2017 ---
    And in the spirit of one-upping myself, I'm posting this from the 9600/200MP.

    Picture 13.png

    --- Post Merged, May 20, 2017 ---
    And in the spirit of "pics or it didn't happen"-here's my 9600.

    I actually hadn't had it on for a while, although it sits next to the G5 I use all the time. I borrowed one of the ACDs to connect to it(via the handy DVI port on the 9200). The internet connection is shared from Airport on the G5.

    BTW, it should be theoretically possible to post to here from any PowerPC Mac since all will run OS 8.6. With that said, given how slow the 9600 was, I can't imagine a 66mhz 7100, for example.

    IMG_4408.jpg
     
  21. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #21
    I'm not exaggerating when I say that it took at least a solid two-three minutes for this page to render on my 300 MHz iBook.

    This page would be brutal on a 7100. If not the processor choking, it would probably run out of RAM before it finished loading the page content.

    But if I had one, I'd definitely try it. :)

    Also/Sidenote: I love seeing your 9600 there. I'm really hoping that the new Mac Pro has some semblance of the late old-world PPC's, or the G3/G4 towers.
     
  22. tevion5, May 21, 2017
    Last edited: May 21, 2017

    tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    Power Macintosh 8600 woz ere.

    Stock, this is a 1997 system. You all had me worried this didn't work!

    (G4 450MHz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 128MB, Mac OS 9.2.2)

    ---Photo added using iPhone---

    IMG_4771.JPG
     
  23. bunnspecial, May 21, 2017
    Last edited: May 21, 2017

    bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #24
    I have two of them. I've never booted one, and the other is running 8.1.

    If I feel so inclined, I'll dig one out and upgrade it to 8.6 sometime this week. That's not a promise, though. I should probably do the one I've never booted, assuming it actually works :) . It was given to me along with a bunch of other Macs-it's actually in a Quadra 800 case.

    My one that I know works I think has around 64mb of RAM. I know I did put some in it at one point.

    I also have a PowerBook 520C with a 133mhz 603 PPC Processor-I'd be interested to see if there's a way to get 8.6 on it.

    I do have AAUI adapters, so can get either of these on the network.

    In the short term, I do have a 6500 already upgraded to 9.2.2 that would work. It's a 603 at I think 120mhz. There's also the 120mhz 8500, although it's a 604. At the end of the day, though, I don't know how much of a difference it makes :)
     
  24. PizzaBoxStyle macrumors 6502

    PizzaBoxStyle

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Location:
    Ohio
    #25
    She's a beauty! :) :) :)
    --- Post Merged, May 21, 2017 ---
    Oh my god if you did that it would probably be the post that ends the challenge. It sounds like a lot of effort, but if you do it will have me like wow.

    Let us know how far you get and what trouble you run into. I think for most of us it would be just finding an AAUI adapter to use (I'd probably check eBay myself).
     

Share This Page