Who hasn't upgraded to Mountain Lion?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CarbonDudeoxide, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. CarbonDudeoxide macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    I'm still running Lion because my hardware is too old for Air Mirroring and I have no interested in Facebook and iCloud integration.

    What about you guys? Why have/haven't you upgraded?
     
  2. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #2
    Just upgraded. Last year MBA. My machine feels like new. Every thing is FAST. And I didn't even do clean install. Well worth the money. You might like it. I don't see how it will be worse than Lion.
     
  3. SpyderBite macrumors 65816

    SpyderBite

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    Xanadu
    #3
    OP only mentioned 3 of 200 new features; all 3 of which are optional. There are also countless bug fixes and improvements in ML. The only reasons not to upgrade are 1. Machine is not supported 2. Using legacy software not supported 3. Can't afford the $20
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    1. My machine is supported.
    2. I don't use legacy software.
    3. I can afford the 20 USD to buy it.

    And still I am running Mac OS X 10.6. I tried Lion for a week and Mountain Lion for another. Mac OS X is OS X now, and I don't like the direction it goes, but I can understand why it does (to lure more and more consumers from their iPhones and iPads buying Macs and to make it even more simple than it already was - Mac OS X was like a car with manual transmission, OS X is using an automatic transmission, and even in real life I prefer manual transmission).

    In other words, there are more reasons to not upgrade than the ones you listed.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    If there are no features that compel you to upgrade, then stay put. While Mountain Lion has been quite successful (as apple reports). There's still a sizable contingent that has yet to upgrade.

    Personally my two MBPs are on ML, but my mini (for my kids) is still on Snow Leopard as is my Hackintosh.
     
  6. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    What is it about Lion and ML that makes you feel you lost the manual transmission?

    To me, as long as I still have the terminal app, I still have the manual transmission option.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Those aren't the only reasons. My Macs are supported, as is most or all of the software I use, and the $20 is a pittance. There's nothing in those 200 new features of ML that I want or need, so why upgrade for the sake of upgrading?

    Why is it that some people think that if they choose to do something, they think everyone else should do it, too? I upgrade when I need or want to, not when Apple or anyone else thinks I should.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    For me it is Spaces and Exposé (though the latter has been restored in ML). There are other small things, but Spaces is the biggest. It is just the direction OS X seems to go that I don't like. I have nothing against automatic transmissions, they are fun to drive sometimes, and I can understand, that many people prefer that. But I am just wired differently. Maybe one day I can make peace with Mission Control or with one of the Spaces alternatives, that are not quite there yet. But since my Macs are still going strong, I don't have to cross that road yet, only when I need a new Mac in two/three years.
     
  9. Liquinn Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #10
    I agree 100% with you. I'm still running Lion and probably will for some time. I don't see the point in upgrading yet. :p
     
  10. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #11
    I never jump on the .0 release...usually .3 before I do an upgrade...but it sounds like ML "might" be a little more stable out of the gate. Maybe I'll just wait for the .1 release to upgrade.
     
  11. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    My opinion is that the first try at spaces was half-assed at best. In lion they further crippled it. The KDE and Gnome folks have been doing a much better implementation of virtual desktops for years. As far as I know the folks in redmond still haven't found it in their hearts to add such a feature.

    ----------

    Completely agree. I have too many mission critical projects going on right now to jump to the bleeding edge. Plus, I'm going to have to get my VMWare updated to the 4.x version before making the ML leap.
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    I don't use Linux extensively, thus I have no experience with their virtual desktop implementation (CompiZ? probably not), but what I like about Spaces is the grid view, I can live without every Space having its own name or desktop background. The grid view is the important feature for me, especially with 12 to 16 Spaces, something Mission Control fails at with more than 5 to 6 Desktops.
     
  13. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #14
    I can test my software in a Mountain Lion virtual machine, so i do not need it on one of my Macs. I use some PowerPC (Rosetta) based tools under Snow Leopard, which need file system access and do not work under ML and do not work in a virtual machine.
     
  14. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #15
    With both KDE and Gnome, there is a small grid view always present down in what would be called the dock in OSX terms. Inside of that small grid view, you can drag windows from one desktop to another, just as you can in the SL grid view. Also, on each window, you can click on an icon in the title bar to get a menu to send the window do a different desktop. There is also an option to have a window show up on all desktops simultaneously.
     
  15. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #16
    I won't upgrade until at least 10.8.1. I never install a .0 version.
     
  16. ender land macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #17
    I'll probably upgrade once I have access to a faster network for downloading it...
     
  17. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #18
    I need to stop downloading so much porn and save myself 5gb of bandwidth to download ML
     
  18. gumblecosby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #19
    Perhaps you could phone your ISP to ask if they could treat porn downloads in a similar manner to FIOS TV and exclude it from your monthly allowance
    :p
     
  19. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #20
    or atleast give me 2GB for every 1GB
     

Share This Page