Who is going to add an aftermarket SSD?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by EnterTheSwamp, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. EnterTheSwamp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    I am going to be getting a iMac, but am struggling with the decision on getting the ssd option. Who here is going to be modding it and adding their own? Is the new one supposed to be harder to mod then the last model?
     
  2. EnterTheSwamp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  3. Cat5e macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #3
    When my 27" model arrives I'm going to be adding an OCZ ssd via the optibay tray.
     
  4. nicroma macrumors 6502a

    nicroma

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #4
    Does the space exist in the late 2009 27" iMacs to put a SSD where the new iMacs have them? If there is I wonder (although I've read that it could be a tough install) if a 3rd party will make the mounting bracket. I would rather not sacrifice my optical drive.
     
  5. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    I would buy it BTO. But not At £650.

    I'd install an aftermarket if someone managed to make a bracket to house it in that space, I wouldn't sacrifice the optibay for it.
     
  6. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #6
    I am sure some people will be. So far I have heard it is difficult with much danger of breaking something or getting dust under the screen.
     
  7. bolen macrumors 6502

    bolen

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    I will probably try to mount my Falcon next to the internal disk. If it turns out to be too tricky I'll replace the internal drive with the SSD.

    I think there's room, but there's no extra SATA connector to use.
     
  8. EnterTheSwamp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    Is it any harder than replacing the HD with a ssd in the 2009 iMac?
     
  9. EnterTheSwamp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #9
    Anyone know if it is more difficult then doing this to the 2009 version?
     
  10. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #10
    Same difficulty. The only way the 2010 would be easier is if you use the SSD drive cage, but you have to buy the iMac with the SSD option to get the drive cage, so the question is moot.
     
  11. OatmealRocks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #11
    I will be adding a SSD but will be conected via firewire externally.

    Too much hassle to take it apart. I also don't trust myself.
     
  12. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
  13. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #13
  14. Cat5e macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #14
    I'd love to hear how this works for you once you do the upgrade. Please keep us informed!

    Thanks
     

Share This Page