Who is John Galt?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by CalPoly10, Feb 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CalPoly10 macrumors regular

After reading Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged 1 year ago, I can't help but to see this storyline unfold in our society.

"When you see that trading is done, not by consent, but by compulsion - when you see that in order to produce, you need to obtain permission from men who produce nothing - when you see that money is flowing to those who deal, not in goods, but in favors - when you see that men get richer by graft and by pull than by work, and your laws don't protect you against them, but protect them against you - when you see corruption being rewarded and honesty becoming a self-sacrifice - you may know that your society is doomed."

I'm a 20 year old student, but I believe I've got a smart head on my shoulders. When I see the government "spreading the wealth", whether it be by giving tax "refunds" to those that don't pay taxes, nationalizing healthcare, bailing out businesses that made terrible choices (as well as home buyers), I can't help but to worry.

I spoke with a relative of mine about this. She said, "Why should I be punished with higher taxes and new programs, when I've lived my whole life by the books? I've never spent out of my means, worked for everything I've ever had, and never asked for anything that isn't rightfully mine."

What is everyone's opinion on this?

2. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

That this thread should have been started in the PRSI forum, or not at all.

3. irmongoose macrumors 68030

irmongoose

Don't worry, you'll grow out of it. Everyone does. Ayn Rand seems like a voice of reason when you first read it, then you realize she was just bat-**** crazy. Very entertaining stories, though, no doubt.

PRSI, please.

irmongoose

4. CalPoly10 thread starter macrumors regular