Who is using Aperture 3 on a mid-2010 iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ChrisB1, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. ChrisB1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #1
    If you are running Aperture 3 on a new iMac, please let us know your impressions. I'm specifically interested in learning if the i5's quads with 1G graphics cards are significantly better than the i3's.
     
  2. diegobgr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #2
    I think that Aperture has no advantage of quad core.
     
  3. MathijsDelva macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #3
    I'm using it on a 21.5" i3, 4GB, 5670 and it's as smooth as butter. No lagging at any time, loads, edits, exports and starts up instantly.
     
  4. ChrisB1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the feedback. Aperture 3 is a dog on my old 2Ghz dual core. Have you tried any light video editing/encoding? With the trend toward video in DSLRs, it is a consideration (though not the main use) for a new computer.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  5. persolo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    #5
    I have an 27" which is working fine. The i7 should be considerably better working with video. Aperture 3 is also making use of OpenCL which means that the graphics card upgrade in the 27" will matter when editing photos. Buy the i7 machine if you want can. It will probably make it worthwhile when you start editing video-slideshows along with photos in Aperture.
     
  6. easepease macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    I have an i7 iMac and use aperture quite often... It does not even stress it. Some photoshop effects and some logic songs with lots of tracks have made it work but other than that the only time I can get it working hard is handbrake or the occasional imovie i do for fun
     
  7. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Aperture 3 really chugs on my iMac9,1 so I would get a quad core if you want to use it without having to wait.
     
  8. ChrisB1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #8
    Thanks for the inputs. I'm sure that the i5 or i7 quad would be better with the better graphics card and more processing horse power. Is it fair to say that if it was just moderately heavy Aperture 3 use that the i3 with 5670 graphics card would be fine but if you throw some video work then a quad core with 5750 graphics card would be much better?

    Thanks for the specific examples. They help "visualize" how the computer handles tasks. Do you have a mid-2010 i7 and how much does Handbrake/iMovie make it work? Do you get spinning beachballs?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  9. gametime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    #9
    May be of some help

    I played with the 3.2ghz i3 in the apple store last week and aperture 3 ran as smooth as silk during my ten minutes of so of testing, I couldn't get it to slowdown. Now admittedly it was only a small library but the pictures seemed to have large file sizes. I've seen many people say that their core 2 duos struggle with aperture, so im not sure if the new 'i' range processors are having a big impact, whether the graphics cards are having an affect or if people with the problems are suffering from fragmented library's instead of their hardware. I think however that you will be fine with any of the 2010 imacs.
     
  10. ChrisB1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #10
    Thanks. Your impressions make me feel better. I'm just trying to decide if kicking in for an i5 quad core is worth it. For just Aperture 3, I should be ok with the i3.
     
  11. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #11
    Ot

    OT

    On my 2009 Mac mini 2 ghz 4gb ram

    Watching 1080p video from my canon t2i uses about 115% of the processors in aperture.
    Same video in QuickTime X uses 12% of the processors.

    Not sure what is going on here, but I guess I won't be using aperture for video until I get a new machine.
     
  12. ChrisB1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #12
    spacepower7 - that is my biggests question. What machine do we need for basic video stuff (watching, editing, encoding)? If anyone has experience using an i3 for this, please let us know how it is going. I'll try to get to an Apple store and try it for myself.

    MathijsDelva - have you done any / would you mind editing some video to see how your i3 w/5670 graphics card does?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  13. persolo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    #13
    Obviously Aperture will run quite well on an i3 machine so you shouldn't worry. The i7 would accommodate larger libraries, serious video editing, new program features, etc, better than the i3.

    Consider my upgrade path:
    While my 2006 Macbook Pro runs Aperture 3 I have to wait after the simplest adjustment before I can see the result and it takes about 10 seconds to load a new image (sometimes up to 60 seconds). With my i7 the computer is waiting for me to make my decisions not the other way around.
    This leads me to conclude that that for photo editing the i3 will suffice for 2-3 years before you will feel that it's not up to speed anymore (and that's because you upgraded to Aperture 4 :) )...
     
  14. ChrisB1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #14
    I'm now wondering if the i3 will handle non-serious video editing ;). I'm beginning to see a pattern - new version of Aperture = new computer. Hmmmm....
     
  15. MacRodster macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #15
    I'm running it on the late 2009/early 2010 i5 27" plus 4gb Ram and 4850 with zero issues. Great APP!!!
     
  16. puljiun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #16
    Does the Faces feature work smoothly on your iMac ?
     
  17. jamesdmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Cittagazze
    #17
    Here's some perspective from a Core 2 Duo user: I run Aperture 3 on my 24" 2.4GHz iMac with 4 GB RAM. It leaves something to be desired (like a new computer :)) when I'm trying to process raw files with it. It lags noticeably. I just recently got into digital photography (Canon 7D; Canon 24-70 f2.8 "brick") so processing photos is becoming a frequent activity on this computer. I'll see how much longer I can deal with the performance before I feel the need to make a change.
     

Share This Page