Who Needs Windows on A Mac When I'm Gonna Run Mac On A Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tanktowns56, May 1, 2008.

  1. tanktowns56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    #1
    Just saying that I'm currently in the process of buying upgrades for my ram and my hard drive and using parallels workstation for windows I'm gonna be running leopard.
     
  2. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #2
    you don't need to upgrade your ram to run leopard
    but yeah, you might want a larger hard drive
    i'm interested to see how this works out for you
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    You will probably need to upgrade your CPU as well. That pentium M is going to run Leopard dog slow under Parallels.
     
  4. tanktowns56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    #4
    Actually I get a new computer when I go to college for free that is suppose to be an up to date current model. I'm gonna ask for a mac but I'm assuming they wont give me one so I'll be happy with something thats just generally faster than what I have now.
     
  5. tanktowns56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    What is it exactly that is running at 239Mhz in your sig or is that a typo?

    It'll still run dog slow, even with Tiger. Your CPU is similar to the one used in the :apple:TV only slightly faster. I have seen people running full blown OSX on the :apple:TV and it is painful. Of course, the :apple:TV only has 256MB of RAM.
     
  7. tanktowns56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    #7
    To be quite honest I'm not exactly sure I think its just a type but I just basically copied and pasted from the properties menu of my computer.
     
  8. mrwizardno2 macrumors 6502a

    mrwizardno2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #8
    It probably has the processor throttled back. My work laptop does this, but it usually falls back to 800 MHz, not 2something
     
  9. taeclee99 macrumors 6502a

    taeclee99

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Anywhere but here
    #9

    Sorry to burst you enthusiasm balloon, but I have run leopard through vm workstation in vista on my mac pro and leopard runs dog slow. My mac pro has 4 gb of ram and quad processors as well. So the moral of the story is, if you want a true mac experience, buy a real mac.
     
  10. metropolitim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #10
    Am I missing something? I just checked out the PW page, and it doesn't mention Mac as a supported guest OS.

    Given Apple's EULA, which says you can ONLY run it on Apple-branded hardware...ie, no virtual machines...I'm not surprised. Apple's not saddling up on the OSx86 crowd yet, but still, it's an unsupported hack that I can't imagine Parallels getting behind.

    So what's up?
     
  11. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #11
    I think its called "playing".

    I've thought the same thing. Once I got ubuntu running on my pc running VMWare workstation, my next thought was, boy, I wonder if I could get OSx running in a VM.

    I dont think apple or anyone else is very worried about hobbyists one-offing something they didnt anticipate.
     
  12. Lord Sam macrumors regular

    Lord Sam

    #12
    Sounds interesting. I didn't know that parallels worked both ways...
     
  13. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #13
    the way the talk is going on this, tank, you're going to have to do it
    everyone will be watching
    i have no doubt you can do it
    the problem is that it'll probably be very slow
    is it worth th effort?
     
  14. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #14
    redwarrior,
    You're talking like a normal user, not an uber-geek. The ubergeek does it just to do it. Whether its useful or not.

    The vmware web pages are very specific in that they say their vm will host any OS that will run on an intel based machine. So there is no doubt that it can be made to work.

    Don
     
  15. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #15
    i have no doubt that it can be done
    but i've had plenty of people who are supposed to be "ubergeeks"
    tell me things and have no experience outside of their one shot at it
    i don't just accept that it will be slow
    i want to see it work
     
  16. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #16
    Your thread title is gibberish. Run Mac on a Windows?
     
  17. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #17
    A more accurate heading might be " . . Run OSX on Windows".

    fine. we all figured it out

    redwarior - who knows, it may not be slow. I didnt say that. I dont see any reason why it would be. Frankly, its Unix, its smaller than windows.

    If windows on windows in a vm works, I would think that properly hacked/patched OSX would run fine. Like in any VM, the speed is determined by the resources of the host system as well as the resource configuration of the virtual system.

    don
     
  18. tanktowns56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    #18
    ok so you got me there but then again I'm a windows user so forgive me I'm not a very mac minded person but I am trying. I just got an acceptance letter from Berea College in Kentucky not to long ago where I plan to go and get a technology management degree. amoung the classes I have to take, I have to have a graphics class. This is all done on macs and theres 15 of them side by side in one room. Almost made me cry lol. But while I may not be very mac orientated, at least I'm trying to become that way. I like the macs more than windows for obvious reasons such as parallels and the 4 gigs of ram amoung other things. So hopefully I'll have something good eventually.:apple:
     
  19. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #19
    As everyone says, it's going to run slow in a virtual machine.

    One thing I didn't see anyone mention, his CPU doesn't have IVT (Intel Virtualization Technolgoy) extension, so if it runs, it's going to run dog slow.

    IVT wasn't introduced to Intel's laptop CPUs until Core Duos.;)
     
  20. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #20
    No - not recommended. This is what we needed to do on better hardware than what Apple had on offer, and it didn't work out too well. You're better off with Leopard for all sorts of reasons.
     
  21. tanktowns56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    #21
    well hopefully when i get to college they'll give me something more updated with duo core and i'm hoping that since they use macs for my graphic design class i'll be taking that also they'll have an option between a pc or a mac when giving us our free laptops.
     
  22. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #22
    Get a Mac. There are many issues with running Mac OS X on PCs. A lot of hardware is not supported, and even if it is, it'll run pretty badly.

    Also, it's illegal. Yes, even if you buy Leopard, it's still illegal to run it on a PC, as you need a cracked version, and the EULA states that you are to not run Mac OS X on non-Apple hardware.

    Basically, even if it does run, don't come running to us when a software update breaks it, or if it's not stable or whatever.
     
  23. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #23
    i was thinking the same thing
    shouldn't it be
    Who needs windows on a mac when i'm gonna run leopard on a pc?

    but then, aren't macs technically pc's?
    cause they are personal computers
    right?
     
  24. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #24

    How about this...

    "Who needs to run Windows (95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista) on Apple hardware such as an iMac, Mac Pro, MacBook or MacBook Pro when I can run OS X (Panther, Tiger, Leopard) on hardware that was engineered more appropriately for Windows, Unix or Linux users?"

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  25. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #25
    now we're getting somewhere!
    so you're saying that a mac is still a pc
    techinically
     

Share This Page