Who to install pre-bought MBP HD upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kraftyd, Mar 11, 2008.

1. kraftyd macrumors newbie

I am out of room on my 160 GB, 7200-rpm, built-in HD in my MacBook Pro 2.2 Core 2 Duo--dont ask me how a college student managed to fill it! :p Anyway, I bought a 320 GB SATA at 5400-rpm like a good little boy. It's here now. and it needs to be installed.

But by whom? :confused:

I live in the Twin Cities and have 3 local options:
    Apple Store: Psh! Not a prayer with someone Else's hard drive
    Micro Center: Will do it for $40 but their Mac guy ditched 'em in the past week or so and his replacement is in training.
    FirstTech: I have friends there but their service is $125!

Can I get quick service (I'm a college student with an online course) and a better deal than $125 online? :confused:

Thx

2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

i think there are plenty of good resources here and on the internet where you could possibly just do it yourself. i know its not the easiest, but it can be done without having to have someone else do it

3. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

UltraNEO*

If you're handy with some tools and good with online guides,
    you could do it yourself! But anything you damage cause, is your own responsibility.

Guide...
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-2-Duo/115

Otherwise you'll need to find a 3rd party to install it for you and you should ask them about warranty, just incase something goes wrong.

4. kraftyd thread starter macrumors newbie

Yeah I need the warranty intact. I have applecare and bought the computer only about 6 months ago. I need Apple Certified people to install it. Installing it myself is not an option.

I've found places like TechRestore, Macservice, and iResQ that let you ship in your mac and give you their hard drive but thats the same problem as the genius bar--I already *have* the drive. grrrr.

5. gothamm macrumors 6502a

Excuses.