Who uses their Macbook Air for web development?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by tzhu07, Jul 29, 2012.

1. tzhu07, Jul 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012

tzhu07 macrumors regular

tzhu07

Can you speak about your experiences with it?

More specifically, I'm a front-end web developer, so I code HTML/CSS/JavaScript, and do some slicing and exporting in Photoshop of web design comps (which are typically not very large files).

I potentially need a laptop for work purposes, but I'm not sure that it's necessary to go for a Macbook Pro since this will NOT be my primary machine. I already have a workhorse desktop for heavy lifting, so I'm thinking that if the Air is sufficient, then its balance of speed, portability, and battery life could possibly be more ideal than a Pro.

Thoughts?

EDIT:

Also, I'm thinking about the 13" base model.

2. msullivanxi macrumors newbie

You should be more then fine at times I work with 50+ mb files on Ps and Ai sometimes close to 150 on Id you should be fine with small files as the only time I see it stutter is when I go crazy and even then its more like a hiccup.

I also use Dw for front end web development and design and never had any issues but my Dw usage is not as extensive as the previous programes I listed

3. Beau10 macrumors 6502a

I use an 11" as my only machine and I'm a Rails dev.

4. jinesh macrumors newbie

I'm a frontend dev too & have been using a 11", 1.6ghz macbook air for a year without any performance issues.

Eclipse, Xcode, Windows 7 (on VirtualBox), Photoshop CS5, Dreamweaver & Coda all run smoothly. Just be sure to think about a good backup policy since I'm sure you'll run out of storage space before processing power :)

5. mikeray macrumors regular

I do web dev on a maxed out 11" 2012 machine, it's been a dream. You might want to max out your RAM so that you can run virtual machines for testing.

6. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey