Who uses their MacBook for Work/business?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dontwalkhand, May 15, 2009.

1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

dontwalkhand

I have a white MacBook, and I am actually now using my own personal MacBook at work, rather than using company PCs.

I have Windows running inside of VMWare fusion running the software I need to get work done, as well as things such as Office on the Mac side of things.

How do you use your MacBook at work, if you use it for work? Is it a good replacement to using company PCs, and being more productive at work than if you were to be using just Windows alone on a work computer?

2. raremage macrumors 6502a

I use mine for work. I'm a technology consultant and do a touch of programming/hacking. It's a tad easier for me as I own the company.

My clients, though, are almost exclusively Microsoft shops (or trying to get there/get away from there). For this reason I upped my memory to 4GB and allocated 2 of that to an XP VM. When onsite with clients, the VM is up and running at just about all times (which means, about 40 hours per week).

For my company business (as opposed to client business), I either rely on Mac software, Web-based solutions, or I RDP to my office and run what I need to in a Windows session remotely.

3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

themoonisdown09

I use my MacBook Pro at work when I need to work on our web application's design. I have to use Photoshop to create all the graphics and it's much faster/easier on my MacBook Pro than my pile of junk Dell Optiplex.

4. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

I also have a new white macbook that I use at work. It's connected to an external monitor keyboard and mouse but I take it to the office or client locations everyday.

I use the Mac versions of Office and VMware Fusion when I must access Notes (many of our Notes apps are Windows only - bad programming if you ask me), Cisco's IP Communicator, Visio or Project. Other than those apps I stay in OS X.