Who would find Caps Lock for the iPod touch useful?? I would!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by anti-microsoft, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. anti-microsoft macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #1
    The title says it all but don't you find it very anoying when You want to type something in capital and you keep having to press shift??
     
  2. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #2
    Not sure but I think if you hold down shift it remains on the whole time.
     
  3. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #3
    Well on the iPhone if you double tap the Shift "key" it switches to All Caps… not the same on the Touch?
     
  4. razorianfly macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #4
    Want to type in all capitals, all the time?

    Settings > General > Keyboard > Enable Caps Lock > On/Off

    R-Fly
     
  5. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    Nope. Doesn't work. R-Fly posted the only way I know of to enable Caps Lock.
     
  6. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #6
    It is curious why they would include that functionality in 1.1.4 on the iPhone and not on the Touch…
    Apple really does some odd things…
     
  7. razorianfly macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #7
    It is odd, but I think apple are slowly but surly trying to adding so many new little features to the iPhone, that now it just falls down to differentiation between the two devices.

    Saying that, it could just be an oversight on Apple's part. If we are to take it that Apple see the iPod touch and iPhone, as not product, but a platform, then you'd think typing arrangements would be the same on both devices, though.

    Would make it a hell of alot more quicker, in this case.

    R-Fly
     
  8. joefinan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #8
    It's got it - Settings > General > Keyboard > Enable Caps Lock.

    Double-tapping the shift then locks it.
     
  9. davidy macrumors 6502

    davidy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #9
    Already covered in other postings

    First, enable caps lock through settings

    Then double tap the caps key. It will turn blue and all typing will be in caps.

    Or, hold the key with left thumb while typing with right finger.
     
  10. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    This is NOT new to 1.1.4 on the iPhone. I just double-tap the shift key to get shift-lock, the key changes color, and all alphas typed are then uppercase. Tap the shift key again and you are back to lowercase. I am using 1.1.3
     
  11. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #11
    What? This has ALWAYS worked for me and it STILL works. Why can't you get your Double-Tap Caps Lock to work? Wait... are you on a Jailbroken iPod touch?
     
  12. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #12
    I'm on a Jailbroken 1.1.1 touch and it still works, so that's not it. :)
     
  13. ribbonthecat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Omg I Am Writing On My Ipod Touch And I Only Hit The Shift Button Twice And Now Its Blue And I Have Caps On. Does Anybody Know If I Can Turn This Off?

    EDIT: This was meant to be funny and it completely capital letters, but the forum won't allow it.
     
  14. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #14
    Ahh okay. I misunderstood the way the "Enable Caps Lock" function worked. Thanks for clarifying.
     
  15. BrownManUPS macrumors 6502a

    BrownManUPS

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    California
  16. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #16
    That's what I thought the "Enable Caps Lock" function did (keeps CAPS on all the time). Turns out all it does it allow you to double-tap the shift arrow to get into CAPS and single-tap it to turn it off.
     
  17. anti-microsoft thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #17
    I knew it! I knew there was a way to get caps on the iPod touch/iPhone!
    Thanks guys!

    Anti-microsoft
     
  18. mbrellisford macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    When I watched the iPod videos when I first bought mine, I noticed he double tapped his shift button and it turned blue (All Caps). This didn't work for at first - until I went browsing into the settings:

    Settings > General > Keyboard > Enable Caps Lock

    Make sure that is set to ON. For some reason it was automatically set to off when I bought it. Double tap the shift button and you got yourself a caps lock.
     

Share This Page