Who's doing post production work on an MBA - How disappointed will I be?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Boe11, Jan 18, 2012.

1. Boe11 macrumors 6502a

Here's my situation. I work as a video producer and use a mac pro at the office. At home, I have a 17" MBP that I love. I don't really game much anymore, and the videos I produce at home have become few and far between.

This has led to my lusting over switching to an 11" MBA and a thunderbolt display for my primary PC at home. I love the idea of having things centralized to one machine, that is transformable to accomodate a pleasing desktop experience and top notch mobility.

My biggest concern is, if a video project comes up at home, or I feel like spending a rainy Sunday in After Effects, will I be pulling my hair out in frustration, or will it be "fine"? I completely realize that the MBA isn't designed for heavy post-production lifting, but I'd like to get some opinions from those of you who actually use yours for editing or graphics on a regular or semi-regular basis.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks

2. iRCL macrumors 6502

Realize that the major limitation is you're stuck at 4GB of RAM maximum. However, the processor on those new MBAs is seriously fast. Depending on how old your MBP is (you don't say) it is actually likely that the MBA will outperform it. The biggest hurdle I imagine you would encounter is disk space since on 11" MBA you're limited to 128GB. However, a thunderbolt RAID array could solve all those problems and stay connected to the external display too I imagine. (Or you could just keep your footage external harddrive, and put the relevant clips on your MBA's SSD.. I don't know your workflow or details)

I seriously doubt you would be disappointed. Those chips are very powerful

3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

spot on. I have the 17" MBP too, and bought the 13" MBA a while back. It's fast, very fast, but even with the 256 sad you tend to be looking at space a lot.