Who's installed Linux on their PS3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by cwright, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. cwright macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    I know this is the Mac gaming forum, but I thought this was still relevant.

    I'm wanting to buy a bigger hard drive for my 20GB PS3 and install Linux on it. I'm hoping that under Linux, the PS3's drive will then show up on my Mac through the local network, and allow me to copy files directly. Has anyone tried this?
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    It's not a practical solution with 256mb ram, and since there isn't an optimised Linux out there for the PS3 (Geek Patrol said it matches the benchmark of a Pentium 3 800MHz system) then you'll be in for a slow fest.
     
  3. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #3
    Yellow Dog for PS3 isn't optimised? That...kind of defeats the point, eh?

    Still, Linux can run with very low system requirements. It should definitely work good for network storage and I'm curious if it could stream SD video via VLC.
     
  4. cwright thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I'm not so much concerned about streaming video, as there are already other solutions to do that under the PS3's OS.

    What I want to know is if I boot up Linux on the PS3 that's connected to my home network, will the PS3's hard drive show up on my Mac as a network disk and let me view/edit/copy the contents of the drive from my computer?
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    When I first got my PS3 from the marketplace here, it had Linux installed.

    I'd say the peformance was about the same as my old G4 iBook 800mhz.

    You still have to be a bit of a 'geek' because you still have to perform a lot of sudo editing to get it working properly, and for a feature that is meant to be easy to go back and forth, Sony really should have included some kind of GUI change to select PS3 or Linux and you shouldnt have to manualy type into bios/terminal command, to get your machine to re-function as a ps3...

    Yes it works, but it cumbersomely implemented and doesnt make the best of the PS3 so the reality is..... why bother ?
     
  6. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #6
    well, considering YDL was designed for ps3, i don't think sony would let the do that. Plus, it probably makes a partition for itself
     

Share This Page