Who's your ISP?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mikes63737, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #1
    I'm looking for a new ISP. I'm using AT&T, and I live in the greater Hartford area in CT. Their service is pathetic. It goes out quite often for 1-2 seconds at a time (annoying as hell) and it's quite slow too. Customer service doesn't care about my home internet - all they want me to do is upgrade to more minutes/texts on my iPhone. :eek:

    Who do you use? What do you think of them? How much / how fast is it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. ArmyKnight12 macrumors 6502

    ArmyKnight12

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    Verizon. It's pretty reliable in the Northeast from my experiences.
     
  3. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    Fidelity Communications....yeah, you've probably never heard of them. A small locally owned cable company in southern Missouri. Locally owned is good and bad....I've never had a call to them go halfway across the country, in fact, I doubt their phone calls leave the state. And they're not a giant evil corporation. The bad is that they're still a monopoly on cable so prices are outrageous, and they don't have the financial backing that other companies do to remain more competitive and build a better infrastructure.

    Although they're extremely reliable. The only time our service was out was when there was a billing snafu and they shut us off, but that was taken care of quickly. At my parents' house where they have Charter, the cable will go out if the wind blows the wrong way.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    AT&T in Chicagoland. no issues with them here.
     
  5. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    Time Warner. They're pretty good. I'm getting around 10 mbps the last time I checked.
     
  6. dsl4c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Earthlink DSL, their service is reliable, but their customer service sucks.. plus its kinda expensive but way better than selling my soul for comcast..
     
  7. Highcroft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    I'm using Verizon and it's pretty good where I live.
     
  8. mikes63737 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #8
    Thanks for your responses. I looked into all of them.

    Verizon - doesn't serve us.
    Earthlink - my dad hates them after issues when we had dial-up.
    Time Warner - doesn't serve us.
    AT&T in Chicago - moving to chicago isn't an option. ;)
    Fidelity - upload is pathetic. (256kbps)

    Has anyone in the Hartford, CT area used Cox? I just remembered about them.
     
  9. Jschultz macrumors 6502a

    Jschultz

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    x2.

    I left the thieving bastards at Comcast for AT&T, 0 problems. Can't wait for U-Verse in my area!
     
  10. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    BT, who have cut out connection speed in to a quarter of the original.
     
  12. cyberjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #12
    Sky (using BT landline) but they dont have that in US.

    Also, if you have a apple airport /x make sure it will work with the ISP, i wanted to buy one but the router dont work with Sky as they use PPPoE/A or something-a-rather... :-s
     
  13. mikes63737 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #13
    It should work... most routers (not sure about AE's) let you specify that on the configuration page.
     
  14. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #14
    Verizon, had them for over two years and there was only one day when they were down.
     
  15. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #15
    Comcast. Got a deal for the first year. Once that's over, I'm switching to AT&T because they're half the price. Slower, yes, but it's fast enough.

    Hadn't had any problems with Comcast so far, though.
     
  16. UMHurricanes34 macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #16
    Comcast.

    Nothing really wrong with it regularly, but I like to blame them when the phones in the house knock out the wireless signal even though it's not even related to Comcast's service.

    They're just fun to blame.
     
  17. cyberjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #17
    Something i considered a while ago was buying a TimeCapsule, but according to previous discussions on the other AirPort base stations they dont support the PPPoA/E thing whatever the heck it is, which is what Sky Broadband uses.

    I found a discussion on it here, i linked to the post where someone states it does not, but i found the last time i checked all posts said it does not work as there are quite a few different discussions on the issue.

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5828033&#5828033
     
  18. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #18
    Orange.

    The service seems fine, but if you have problems oh you are so screwed. Their tech support is just reading off a script and it's hard to understand what they're saying. I need to ring them back up about the second line activation which has been on-going for over a month now. *sigh*:(
     

Share This Page