Why 2.8 i7 on 21.5" but not on 27"?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by azax456, May 16, 2011.

  1. azax456 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #1
    Hey everyone - I will be purchasing a 2011 27" iMac with SSD when they start shipping. I am frustrated to see that the 2.8ghz i7 is available on the 21" model but not on the 27". I was planning to get the 2.7 i5 but I would have liked to upgrade to the 2.8 i7 if it was available to get the i7 processor. Why would Apple do this? The 2.8 would be $180 more, I'm sure most of you will say just spend another $120 and get the 3.1 but I didn't want to do that. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
  3. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #3
    Only reason for the 2.8 in the 21.5" is that it's a 65W chip (i5-2500S.)

    They put 95W chips (i5-2500 and i7-2600) in the 27" due to the extra cooling afforded by the larger case.
     
  4. qap macrumors 6502

    qap

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Udine, Italy
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/5.0.019802/24.838; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    No, in the 27" there are the 2.7 (i5-2500S) with 65W and the 3.1 (i5-2400) with 95W and the i7-2600 (3.4 and 95W)
     
  5. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #5
    You purchased iMac with SSD, and the upgrade itself cost around $600 if you want to keep your HDD intact.

    Now a little upgrade to top-end iMac shouldn´t be too hard for you? Plus you get a nice GPU with top-end iMac. Sorry you dont want people to say what I´ve just said, but I really have to because it´s the most proper way to solve your dillema


    And why do you want i7 so bad? Because you want to rack up 5digits score on Geekbench? Or do you really encode and render a lot?

    I, personally would go with i5 + SSD if I use my iMac for working only, too bad I love games .. so I have to get the nicest GPU available, but it has to be Mac. I´ll install my own SSD later
     

Share This Page