Resolved Why a "Smart Connector" instead of "USB-C"?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by marc55, Mar 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marc55 macrumors 6502a

    marc55

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #1
    Can you guys please explain why Apple created the "Smart Connector" instead of using the "USB-C"?

    Since the USB-C is in the MB, and surely will be coming to the MBP and MBA lines, why didn't Apple just put the "C" into the new Pro iPads? Is due to size?

    I think Apple just loves to create their own connectors :)

    Thank you,
    m
     
  2. masotime macrumors 68000

    masotime

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    How in the world would you use USB-C to connect to e.g. The Apple Smart Keyboard without significantly compromising the ergonomics?

    Besides, the "smart connector" really isn't a new idea. Both the Nexus 10 and the Surface Pro have similar connectors.
     
  3. marc55 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    marc55

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #3
    Thanks, I've already asked the moderator to delete my post as I realized It didn't make much sense. I was slightly confused on connectors :)
     
  4. Three141 macrumors 6502

    Three141

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #4
    My view for Apple not giving the Ipad pro a USB-C port is for consistency across IOS devices, size and aesthetics.

    It would also be too soon to change over to USB-C; people moaned forever about the change from the 30pin to lighting port even though there was an adapter.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Apple won't change from a licences connector to an unlicensed connector.

    They have however revised the inside of the Lightning port on the pro and hopefully this year all the devices will get the revision with a push to usb3 for an increase in data transmission rates.

    As for the smart connector itself it's a smart move for quick connecting accessories.
     
  6. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #6
    I'm guessing because USB3 isn't required and/or the left-over bandwidth is not available in the SOC for USB3.

    Apple generally do their own connectors because they do stuff that the standard ones don't.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page