Why am I getting 2 different temps

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by team 79 krunch, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. team 79 krunch macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    I have 2 different programs on my 17"MBP that tell me the internal temp, intel core duo temp, and smcFanControl. Right now I have both open, and I am getting 2 different temps, 106 F and 90 F. Also on smcFanControl, it shows that the right fan is at 0-RPM and the left fan is at 6001-RPM, I tried to manually up the right fan, but is isn't responding, does this mean that the right fan is dead?
     
  2. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    What OS? AFAIR, Core Duo Temp doesn't work in OSX 10.5, thus results may be wrong.
     
  3. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    that makes sense, but what about the right fan?
     
  4. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Try iStat and check the speed of the right fan displayed by the widget.
     
  5. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #5
    I downloaded iStat, and it showed the right fan at 0-RPM and the left fan at 5998-RPM
     
  6. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    In this case, if you have warranty or Apple Care, the best thing you can do is phone Apple and ask about this fan. I'm afraid that you will have to go to Apple Store.
     
  7. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #7
    My MBP is about a week old, so I should be fine?
     
  8. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Yes, of course. Within fourteen days from the date of purchase, you can even return MBP or ask for replacement with a new one.
     
  9. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #9
    sweet, I bought mine from the online Apple Store, I can take it in to the local Apple Store and they will replace it. Isn't there a restocking fee or something?
     
  10. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Frankly, I don't know exactly that. The best way is call the Apple and ask about it.
     
  11. team 79 krunch thread starter macrumors member

    team 79 krunch

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #11
    Ok I shall make the journey to the Apple Store.
     

Share This Page