Why are't ipads pushed the Cintiq direction?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by xMBPx, Feb 27, 2011.

1. xMBPx macrumors regular

I'm a student in art college, and we have access to many Cintiq tablets that are basically just computer screens you can draw on.

The problem with Cintiq's is that they are $2000.

So at the fraction of the cost, why aren't iPads getting any apps that would allow you to photoshop, etc.. ?

If I could use the iPad as a touch screen tablet for my MBP, this alone would justify me buying one.

2. nwcs macrumors 65816

nwcs

The power requirements of trying to do what the cintiq is doing (both in terms of actual power plus processing power) is the main reason. I think it will be a while but I do agree that it would be really cool.

3. Piggie macrumors 604

Piggie

The combination of a color LCD with industry-leading pen input capabilities allows photographers, designers, animators and other creative professionals to work naturally and intuitively directly on the surface of the large-format, 21.3" screen.

The new Cintiq 21UX detects 2048 levels of pressure, giving you even more control over pressure-sensitive pen effects such as line weight, opacity, and exposure. With Wacom's new Tip Sensor, the pen now features a lower activation force that captures even the most subtle nuances of pressure.

The ambidextrous design of the second generation Cintiq 21UX features a pair of rear-mounted Touch Strips, along with accompanying Touch Strip Toggle Buttons. In this manner, you'll gain instant control of up to four application-specific Touch Strip functions on each Touch Strip, such as brush size, zooming, scrolling and canvas rotation. Sixteen ExpressKeys™ (eight on either side of the display) boost productivity by providing quick access to keyboard shortcuts and modifier keys.

Sounds a bit like saying why don't the F1 team use my Mini, it's cheaper :D

4. xMBPx thread starter macrumors regular