Why buy a used Mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Luis Ortega, Oct 20, 2007.

1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

I'm new to Macs and recently bought a MBP which I love.
    I read a lot of comments in the forums about how people can sell their Macs for great prices and upgrade to the newest thing.
    I just wonder why anyone would want to buy a used Mac from another individual?
    By the time I would want to upgrade my MBP, it would be several updates older than what was selling then. Even if I was trying to sell a more recent model rather than an older one, it would still be out of date so why would anyone offer anything close to what I originally paid for it when they could get an up to date computer for just a bit more?
    Right now, I'm reading about how people with recently bought MBPs are thinking of selling them off to buy the next updates with Penryn chips or whatever. If they are asking near the purchase price for their used computer, who would be willing to pay top money for a machine that is going to be out of date? Why not spend a little more for a current model with warranty and a company behind it that must deal with any problems that arise?
    Then there is the issue of warranty and getting a lemon. Someone could be selling off a computer that had suffered various problems during its warranty period and had parts replaced with refurbished components and there would be no way to know what you are getting and no protection from a warranty or company policy if it went belly up after a while.