why buy iWork vs. each program separately?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by seedman76, May 23, 2011.

1. seedman76 macrumors member

I am new to a Mac and Apple software. Why would I buy iWork vs. buying each program separately through iTunes? From what I've seen you can buy each program separately cheaper then as a package in iWork. Am I missing something? Thanks.

2. taylortm, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011

taylortm macrumors member

Good Question

I have wondered the same thing ever since they deployed the App Store. I bought iWork (as a package -- retail CD) because my colleagues think Pages is good and Keynote is RAD (which it is... the goofball with his quip about Office is better... why buy iWork... is probably missing a few facts). When I saw it, I asked one of my pals that works at Apple (on the retail side) and he kind of laughed it off and said they're doing a few funny things like that to test the waters of the App Store. For example, compare Aperture's price in the App Store vs. retail packaging.

Bottom line: the App Store is a less expensive means of distributing the apps. And, beyond that, Apple is adding "goodwill" pricing on some of their apps to encourage folks to buy through the App Store. You're not "losing anything" by doing what you propose. There's no sweet 200-page User's Guide in the retail box. It's very "Apple" in that there's pretty much nothing -- except for maybe a little color brochure about all the cool things iWork will do -- in the box.

That's my understanding, at least.

3. snberk103 macrumors 603

Like taylortm said, Apple is just having some fun with the pricing to get people into the store. The only reason I can think of to buy the iWork box is to get the CD. If you need the retail CD then this is the way to go, otherwise go for the App Store version.

4. lee14160 macrumors regular

lee14160

Why even pay. . .Libre Office is freeware.