Why can I not dial *228?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Brettka7, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Brettka7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #1
    I am trying to improve my connection both Verizon's *228. This is what I get:

    [​IMG]

    Is it not allowed on LTE phones? My iPhone 4 always let me dial it.
     
  2. kirkhuffy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    LTE or 4G phones don't use this method. Periodically shutting the phone off and pulling the SIM card will refresh the network like the *228 method did. You can also reset network settings by settings>general>reset>reset network settings
     
  3. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
  4. Medic311 macrumors 68000

    Medic311

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #4
    ahhh, the *228

    i remember when that actually did improve network performance and coverage...when verizon was actively expanding it's CDMA (all digital!!!) network in the northeast in 1997.

    it's borderline useless at this point unless you really live in an area that is getting constant network enhancements due to new towers. most of the populated parts of the country have already been saturated by now

    the last time i did *228 was in 2008 when i replaced my Blackberry 8700 with the Blackberry Curve 8330.
     
  5. kirkhuffy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5

    Its for verizon afaik. It's supposed to update the radio connection to the towers. Pretty much improving your signal
     
  6. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #6
    *228 was how 3G devices on Verizon were activated as well as how they were able to receive their PRL updates. However, for 4G LTE devices this is no longer necessary as it is done via the SIM Card. Therefore rendering *228 useless
     
  7. Brettka7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
  8. 1080p, Oct 3, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012

    1080p macrumors 68020

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #8
    Let me clear up some untruths and some myths here.

    PRL has NO IMPACT on your NATIVE network coverage. It only affects ROAMING capabilities.

    People think, "They built a new tower by my house, so I need a new PRL so I can pick it up."

    FALSE. PRLs are done by SID (System ID) and only affects
    how your phone roams.

    Now that Verizon is using LTE, SIM cards take the place of *228 and OTASP/PRL updating is obsolete.

    LTE is the natural evolutionary path for WCDMA (UMTS, HSDPA, HSPA+), which evolved from GSM. All of those technologies have had dynamically updated roaming abilities. Users didn't even need to think about it.

    The natural evolutionary path for CDMA 1xEV-DO would be EV-DV... but Qualcomm scrapped it because the world (including Verizon) chose LTE. Verizon wanted to be apart of the world standard. So, naturally... customers used to CDMA and it's practices are going to be confused about these things.
     
  9. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    SIM card does it for you.

    When the HTC THUNDERBOLT came out, they forgot to disable *228, and it dried the SIM.
     
  10. iregret macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #10
    I hate it when I have a dry sim. It must be kept moist at all times!
     

Share This Page