Why can you only change your Region Code a few times?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jordz, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. Jordz macrumors member

    Jordz

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    England, U.K
    #1
    Why can you only change your Region Code a few times? and after you use your 3 chances lets say, can you change it again another way?
     
  2. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #2
    I believe that the maximum is 5 changes. That's the original and 4 changes.

    You can search the web for utility programs that will allow you to reset this. However, you risk hosing your optical drive and making it unusable.

    If you regularly use multiple regions, I would suggest getting an external for the other Region.
     
  3. FrenchPB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
  4. és: macrumors 6502a

    és:

    #4
    It's probably something to do with dodgy foreign DVDs. It'll stop you switching back and forth.

    Soloution: Buy and AppleTV, use handbrake to rip them into appltv compatible formate... bingo.
     
  5. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    There's nothing dodgy about foreign original DVDs.

    It's just technofascism from the DVD Forum.
     
  6. és: macrumors 6502a

    és:

    #6
    Did I say or imply that there was?

    I said dodgy foreign DVDs.
     
  7. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    It looks like you're saying all foreign DVDs are dodgy.

    Region codes block ALL DVDs from another region.
     
  8. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #8
    Makers of DVDs do not want to you view ones made for other regions. Most stand alone DVD players you buy for your home are pre-set to the region you live in.

    If you could change region at will then there would be no point in regions in the first place.

    They allow you to change region a small number of times, so that if you sell the machine to someone in another region or you move, you have the chance to change to the new location. I suppose they think 5 times is plenty.

    As mentioned above there are always around this, but they did not allow you 5 chances just so you can choose which region you want to view a DVD from today.
     
  9. djchiena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #9
    keep the region to your current location for dvd player and use VLC for other region dvds
     
  10. és: macrumors 6502a

    és:

    #10

    If I wanted to say foreign DVDs are dodgy, I would have just said that. I'm only talking about the dodgy ones :D
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    You can always purchase a region free DVD player to connect to your TV. :)
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    that trick doesnt work on newer machines
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    I don't understand why it's trivial to find region-free players that connect to a TV, yet computer drives are almost always locked. Does anyone know the reason behind that?
     
  14. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #14
    Most interesting question.
     
  15. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #15

    It's just technofascism from the DVD Forum.
    :D
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand

Share This Page