Why can't firefox go to ios apps main page anymore without this error ? Anyway to fix ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by max2, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. max2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #1
  2. D.T. macrumors 603

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #2
    When you open a URL that has a schema (ITMSS) that's not recognized by the browser (like HTTP, FTP, etc.), your system will look for an app associated with with it - if one isn't found, you get what you're seeing (basically a protocol that's not handled).

    Does that machine have iTunes installed? That's the app that's expected to handle the itmss:// schema
     
  3. max2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #3
    No I don't use iTunes.
     
  4. D.T. macrumors 603

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #4
    Per my explanation above, that's the problem. Firefox attempts to pass that URL (with the itmss://) to an app and nothing is registered to handle it.

    What are you _excepting_ to happen when you click on a link that opens the Apple App Store?
     
  5. max2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #5
    For it to go to the url of the app store page instead like it use to.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    That would be one of those situations where you need software installed that you don't use yourself, but your system does.
    Your URL takes you to the iTunes App Store, so would launch iTunes to do that.
    You need to reinstall iTunes.
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    Using Firefox on the Mac, for example, going to the app from https://appadvice.com/app/five-minute-journal/1062945251 results in being taken to https://itunes.apple.com/US/app/id1062945251?mt=8 and then offering to open up iTunes in addition to it, but the App Store page for the app seems to load first in the browser without any issues.
     
  8. D.T. macrumors 603

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #8
    Chrome (MacOS) lands on the web page for the app (so Company Page >> Itunes Web landing page), and it automatically opens iTunes (via the itmss:// schema), so if it wasn't properly handled, you'd see the equivalent error as the OP posted - regardless, he must be either autoloading or clicking the app link (from the Itunes page), since the URL in the browser is showing itmss://<some_long_url), which is ultimately the issue.

    I mean, I get what you're saying, you can go the app advice page:

    upload_2017-3-3_16-2-3.png


    Then clicking the $4.99 in the App Store button/link gets you to the iTunes page which should also load in a browser (since it's HTTP):



    upload_2017-3-3_16-6-4.png


    ... and then clicking the 'View in iTunes' will open iTunes ... however, depending on the configuration details, it might also automatically open iTunes (which is what happens on my machine, using Chrome and Firefox)



    upload_2017-3-3_16-7-49.png
     
  9. DeltaMac, Mar 3, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017

    DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    But, isn't the App Store page in iTunes?
    When I load the same link, it loads the browser page, click to purchase re-directs to iTunes App Store.
    In Firefox, I get a popup asking to launch iTunes.
    The link will load iTunes/App Store where you complete the purchase, that's what the itmss link does, correct?

    Anyway, I think the OP will solve the problem by reinstalling iTunes. It's one of those times that makes iTunes one of the mandatory apps in macOS.
     
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    That's the thing, there's an App Store web page that gets loaded and also a request for an iTunes-specific page to be opened up in iTunes as well. Seems like without iTunes at least the web page should be loaded given that that's what happens normally anyway.
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    But, can you complete a purchase of an iOS app without iTunes?
    Isn't iTunes the go-to app for App Store iOS purchases?
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    I don't think you can without iTunes on a computer or just doing it on an iOS device directly. That said, it seems like as far as what OP was bringing up, it was more in relation to simply being able to view the details of an app on it's App Store page in a browser (without any iTunes involvement).
     

Share This Page