Why can't I downgrade my 3GS from 4.0 to 3.1.3?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dmk1974, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    My wife's 3GS is on 4.0 and I'd rather have it back on 3.1.3 and jailbroken. Back when 3.1.3 had come out, I jailbroke it and am sure that the SHSH is backed up on Cydia. But when I try to restore to 3.1.3 in iTunes, I get the error codes. I edited the file in the etc folder (PC) as per iClarified. Am I missing something super simple? Thanks!
     
  2. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #2
    Use TinyUmbrella to make sure your SHSH is on file. I thought I had mine on file but didnt.

    good luck
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    If you edited your hosts file correctly and followed every step on the tutorial it will let your iphone downgrade assuming you do have SHSH's for 3.1.3 on cydias server.
    Go thru the steps again and make sure you did it right.
    And also verify it by doing what Arisian said.
     
  4. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    I have never used Tinyumbrella. Just the backup in Cydia previously. Does Tinyumbrella check against Saurik's server? I had thought it was just for a local backup.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Yes, it does both.
    It will let you know what you have on file thru cydias server.
     
  6. uanuglyfool macrumors regular

    uanuglyfool

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    The Moon, CA
    #6
    Which error code are you getting? I just donwgraded my iPhone 3GS to 3.1.2 to unlock and sell it. I remember reading that if you get an error code 1015 the downgrade was successful but stuck.....here is part of the article

    "When it's finished, you'll likely receive an error message like the one above (error 1015) and your iPhone will boot up with a "Connect to iTunes" screen. This is where the utility you downloaded above, RecBoot, comes in handy. Open RecBoot , and click Exit Recovery Mode. In a few seconds, RecBoot should kick you out of plug-me-into-iTunes recovery mode and you'll boot right into your freshly downgraded 3.1.3."

    Life Hacker

    Hope this helps
     
  7. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #7
    Cool...I did verify with Tinyumbrella that my 3.1.3 was backed up! A-ha! NOW it looks like it's restoring!

    Here's the steps I did:

    1.) Put iPhone into DFU mode (not restore mode, but DFU)
    2.) Closed iTunes
    3.) Ran Tinyumbrella
    4.) Started TSS Server
    5.) Opened iTunes
    6.) Connected iPhone
    7.) Manually selected the stock 3.1.3 to restore to
    8.) Let it restore
    9.) Get the 1015 error
    10.) Press the Tinyumbrella "Kick Device out of Recovery" button
    11.) DONE!
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  9. jforjustice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #9
    I've got a 3GS on 4.2.1 firmware with a baseband 05.15.04.

    I've got it jailbroken, but obviously cannot unlock that baseband (i know about the 6.15 ipad method to unlock and don't want to lose GPS).

    Is it possible to take this iphone 3GS and downgrade it to 3.1.3 firmware, and then unlock it, please?

    Is it even possible to downgrade like that, and will it also downgrade the baseband so I can unlock?

    I'm asking based upon what "aunuglyfool" said about downgrading then unlocking.

    I certainly don't need ios 4.x firmware on this phone. I'm much more interested in having it unlocked.

    Are there ANY unlock options besides upgrading to 6.15 baseband, please?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    No, the baseband cannot be downgraded even if you downgrade the firmware.
    The bb will stay the same.


     

Share This Page