Why can't I download El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mortenjensen, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. mortenjensen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,
    I have been trying to download El Cap a number of times form app store - but it won't finalize. This time I am running on 15th hour or so - the download-wheel just keep spinning.

    I've tried a trick suggested with a new ip, but then I lost my internet connection.

    Any ideas? How long time should it take?

    Also: When downloaded, is there then a way to store the installation file so I dont have to go through this with another mac I need to upgrade?

    Morten
     
  2. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #2
    It is your DNS that you have to change. Not the IP. Open your network preferences, then if the lock at the bottom left shows as locked, click on it and enter your admit password. Then go to Advanced and click on the DNS tab.

    Try adding 208.67.222.222 to the DNS servers by clicking the plus sign at the bottom left. Then close the prefs and click ok to apply changes.

    If that doesn't help, try 8.8.8.8 instead, or 203.122.233.11.

    Once it is downloaded, it should appear as an installer in your Applications folder. Just make a copy of the installer and save it somewhere else. Then run the installer in the Applications folder. Once installed, the installer will delete itself, but you will have your other copy elsewhere.
     
  3. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #3
    The installer will automatically launch after it completes the downloaded. Quit the installer before performing the install since it will automatically delete after the install. Save a copy of the installer somewhere else and leave the original in the Applications folder to use on that Mac. The installer is "Install OS X El Capitan" and is 6.2 Gb.
     
  4. welshwizzard, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016

    welshwizzard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    #4
    'Have recently upgraded to 'El Cap' on my mac. Does anybody know why my DVD Superdrive is currently not working?
    How do I get it working? Any solutions appreciated. 'Am now aware that this is a major problem to those who have upgraded to 'El Cap'.

    I have a 27in iMac late 2012 model.
    3.4 GHz Intel Core i7,
    16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB
    Apart from the 3gb internal hard drive I also have a 3 gb external drive to make backups of the internal drive. Steve.
     
  5. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #5
    @welshwizard: You should start a new thread for your question. Your question has nothing to do with this thread.
     
  6. Mr. Dee macrumors 65816

    Mr. Dee

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Location:
    Jamaica

Share This Page