why can't i have two active sync account

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Aravintht, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    i've searched, but can't find an answer

    can someone explain why i can't have two activesync accounts?

    i am not syncing calendars or contacts in either - just mail
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  3. Aravintht thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. jw nyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    I don't know but I wish I could have two also. I NEED my work one on my phone and I WANT push gmail/calendar/contacs. Unfortunately, I can't get my gmail info b/c I can't remove my work exchange account. So annoying!
     
  5. pcguru83 macrumors 6502a

    pcguru83

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    It's not even possible on Windows Mobile phones. I'm not sure of the technical reasons behind why that's the case, but I doubt you'll be seeing that functionality on the iPhone anytime soon, if at all.
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Even MS Outlook can only have one Exchange account per profile, meaning only one can be active at a time. I think it has something to do with ActiveSync.
     
  7. hsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    But the Palm Pre supports more than one. Guess MSFT does not trust their own mobile OS well enough to allow it - and Apple just followed suit....
     
  8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #8
    Yeah it seems it's not possible nor do I believe we'll ever see it.
    We get exchange ... that's the extent of their "allowance" with us. ;)
     
  9. Aravintht thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    thanks for the replies

    i have a university one setup, wanted to add my gmail one
     
  10. pcguru83 macrumors 6502a

    pcguru83

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Well how about that, they sure do. I had no idea. Interesting little tidbit of info.
     
  11. intrepid00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #11
    There is a techincal reason for why you can't have one. Exchange isn't the only one but the other solutions are removing such limitation.

    I believe the limit is that if you connect the same mobile to same exchange server with two diffrent accounts one of them will break. Anyway, they know.

    MSFT proably never felt the need to address it because till recently only the corporate world had smartphones with services like Microsofts ActiveSync for Exhcnage with push or Blackberries with similiar feature.
     

Share This Page