Why can't I use Microsoft Front Page 1.0 on Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by masscub, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. masscub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    #1
    Someone gave me a copy of Microsoft Front Page 1.0 for Macintosh. I tried to install it and there was a slash through and I was unable to install it. So is there a way for me to use this application? I have a Mac mini with a G4 processor with the Leopard OS on it.

    Thanks
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    You don't want to use it, the code will not be compliant with any current standards.
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    It's a Classic environment app. Classic isn't supported on Intel Macs. You'd probably get better results by running the PC version of FrontPage in Wine or Crossover.

    However, you should really take a look at a Mac web creation tool such as RapidWeaver.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    The OP has a G4, so it can (probably) work, but isn't worth the trouble, IMO.
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    D'oh! Missed that bit :eek:

    I agree though. It'll end up generating pages that render really well....in Mac IE5. Better to use something a bit more up to date.
     

Share This Page