why can't we add other cities to the world clock?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by sakau2007, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. sakau2007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #1
    i have family that will be taking a pretty extensive trip around the world and there are a lot of cities that just aren't on the list of cities for the world clock.

    cairns, austrailia....alice springs, austrailia.... just to name two that would help me out.

    is there no way to add cities to the list?

    seems like it would take so little to add a few hundred more cities to the world list... particularly cities in countries that are visited a lot by tourists.
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    I never thought it was a city so much as a time zone. I use NY and I'm in NC. /shrug

    Are those cities in the same time zone?
     
  3. sakau2007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #3

    i'm really not sure. that's why it would be nice to have a lot more options. for a lot of countries in the world, it seems it would be easy to just have it programmable such that you put in a zip code and it pulls up the city and correct time. hasn't this been done on virtually any weather app, widget, or service for years?
     
  4. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #4
    Just be glad they actually give you city names....the other option is time zone names or GMT + or - ....city names just make it easier to figure out.

    Just look at a time zone map and see what "major" cities are represented in the time zones you will be visiting.
     
  5. cyks macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #5
    If you're on an iPhone 5, use the stock 'Weather' app as your World Clock.
     

Share This Page