iPad Why did Apple not put A6 in ipad mini retina?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by gadget123, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. gadget123 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Why did they not put an A6 in the ipad mini and offer less features like the last ipad mini? Why did they decide to make it premium only smaller?
     
  2. FrozenDarkness macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #2
    becuase the A6 can't drive a retina display in ios7
     
  3. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

    v0lume4

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #3
    They also boosted the price up to $400, so it's not necessarily that they were just doing it to be friendly. :p
     
  4. herdnerfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint louis, MO
    #4
    They would've had to use the A6X, and since no other devices would've been using that chip as well, it was most likely more cost efficient just to move to the A7, so they could manufacture a single chip in a high quantity for both iPads & the iPhone 5s.
     
  5. haruhiko macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #5
    A6 cannot support retina display
    A6X consumes too much power
    Apple has no choice but to use A7 if they want to put a retina display on the mini.
     
  6. sixrom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #6
    Every dollar Apple can save, they do. When they can sell anything at any price there's no incentive to include the latest tech :)
     
  7. VTECaddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #7
    So you're mad that Apple didn't gimp the retina Mini? :confused:
     
  8. JoeRito macrumors 6502

    JoeRito

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #8
    Here's the real reason: they are moving EVERYTHING to 64-bit.
     
  9. herdnerfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint louis, MO
    #9
    I didn't think about the power saving bit, that probably makes the most sense of all.
     
  10. bambooshots macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    #10
    That, and Apple will save on money in regards to economies of scale producing the A7 across its flagship devices.

    Also, look and see what the die size of the A6X is vs the A7. I think the A7 is actually a bit smaller.
     
  11. DaCurmudgen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #11
    I'm no engineer, so this is an honest question. If that is true, why can the iPad 3 A5X chip power a Retina screen with iOS7?
     
  12. ditzy macrumors 68000

    ditzy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #12
    The A6X can drive a retina screen the A6 can't.
     
  13. Zellio macrumors 65816

    Zellio

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #13
    Just because it wasn't used doesn't mean it cant
     
  14. FrozenDarkness macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #14
    let's not kid ourselves, the iPad 3 runs iOS7 terribly.
     
  15. Charliebird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #15
    It's probably easier for Apple and software developers to have fidelity across the product line. Most of the cost and hard work is related to developing the technology. Stamping out an A7 processor isn't much harder than stamping out an A6X (maybe even easier). Cost wise there isn't much savings either since an A7 processor cost $19 dollars a piece.
     
  16. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #16
    In going up to a retina display, they were forced to go with the A7 over the A6X, to save on power consumption.
     

Share This Page