Why did this almost kill my iMac..

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by HazRutter, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. HazRutter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I tried to install 64bit windows ultimate through the boot camp installer and I eventually got to my vista desktop. However, when I put in the leopard CD it didnt install drivers, just some macbook air software? I dont even have a macbook air.

    I then rebooted and it wouldnt boot to either Mac OS X or Vista, I eventually got back to Mac OS X though. What happened?

    I have a 2.66ghz iMac.
     
  2. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2

    What do you mean it wouldn't boot? Was there a blank screen? Apple logo? Details.

    As far as the drivers go, you sometimes have to right click on the DVD --> Explore --> Boot Camp, and there should be a 64-bit folder or something along those lines in there. Basically just look for an setup.exe file. For some reason Boot Camp installer won't automatically come up in Vista (although it does in Windows 7).
     
  3. HazRutter thread starter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #3
    White screen then like a windows cmd, which led to nothing. I will explore the DVD if I have the nerve to try this all again :(
     
  4. tdgrn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #4
    You might want to download the BootCamp drivers version 2.1, if it is 64 bit. I know when trying to install Vista 64bit with pre 2.1 then it didn't work, however 2.1 works like a champ. I am actually using windows 7 right now under 64 bit mode and everything works awesome
     
  5. HazRutter thread starter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Where is it?
     
  6. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
  7. HazRutter thread starter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #7
    I cant download this in windows as I dont yet have the airport driver. Im downloading the drivers now, can I run them from my External when im in windows?

    Oh also, I forgot to say, when I booted up to mac os it did not give me the option to restart to windows in the startup disk area, I dont think it was even recognised by mac?
     
  8. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #8
    There should be a disk mounted to your desktop titled "Untitled", assuming you have not yet named the disk. If that is the case, open it and see if the Windows system files are present. If they are there and you can boot via holding down Option, you're fine. I have the same issue after I installed macfuse and ntfs-3g. I'm not sure why this happens, but I still have the ability to boot into Windows.
     
  9. HazRutter thread starter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Right, just thought i'd give an update, I downloaded the drivers and when I click on the .exe it says windows needs your permission, so I allow it but it still doesnt do anything? Help? :)
     
  10. HazRutter thread starter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Hi, sorry to bump, but I would really like some help on this. I have spent the last hour or so searching. My lepoard install disc doesnt have drivers on it, all it has is some macbook air stuff.

    I tried to load the .exe that was posted earlier, and again, it just didnt boot.

    Please help.
     

Share This Page