Why did this window pop up in High Sierra?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by blackxacto, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #1
    17,1 iMac, macOS 10.13.4
    So I opened up a pdf in a pdf reader, and this window pops open. Why am I being prompted about the name on my iMac in the system? Why does it have something to do with sharing?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    you have more than one mac; they both have the same name, and the os (not just HS) will rename one to keep their identities seperate, as they're on the same network. standard behavior..
     
  3. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #3
    I have ONE iMac, ONE iPad Pro (10.5”), ONE iPhone SE. Where is it seeing the second Mac?
     
  4. Bornee35 macrumors 6502

    Bornee35

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
  5. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    did you previously have another imac? also, the network may just have seen your imac with a different IP address, and it's confused (seriously). it's nothing to worry about...
     
  6. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #6
    I had another iMac two years ago. But what prompted this pop up?
     
  7. treekram macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #7
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Network Connection (Same Network, Same Name (even if it is a ghost))
     
  9. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #9
    Thank you for the link. I tried to run the bonjour shut off command in terminal, but High Sierra does not recognize a command listed for Bonjour on/off. Does anyone have a link to a recent explanation on how to effectively rechange the Mac network name?
     
  10. iapplelove macrumors 601

    iapplelove

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    #10
    This issue was pretty popular years ago. My Mac got all the way up to MBP(3). Only had one mbp my entire life , th same one I’ve been using since 2012.

    Not sure what causes it, but haven’t heard of anyone having this issue of renaming in a very long time.
     
  11. treekram macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #11
  12. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #12
    I have done a complete clean install of my 17,1 iMac. NO MIGRATION. I did drag my user documents folder back, but not a lot else. A lot of issues have gone away.
     

Share This Page