Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Was it a good buy (hindsight)

• Total voters

jshulman10

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 26, 2010
I’m curious why people (particular not in photography/film) have purchased a Mac Pro?

I’m a student in CS and my MacBook Pro is no longer cutting it for my duel monitor setup. I do a lot of:
  • putzing around the internet
  • online tutorials
  • programing in sublime, xcode
  • casey neistat vlog watching (youtube)
  • often connected additionally to a 50inch tv
  • duel boot to windows and Mac osx dev builds
  • gaming sometimes (MC, Starcraft, Simcity)

I was thinking about getting a low end (4 core) mac pro to be my basestation for the 4+ years and have my Macbook be restored and setup for class since it doesn’t support me in my full glory anymore.

So i’m genuinely curious if anyone like me (a semi intensive user, student) owns a Mac Pro and why? I think this could be a good machine to last me a long time therefore worth the investment, but i have no experience in this caliber

(Retina, 13-inch, Late 2012)
2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
121GB

to

3.7GHz quad-core with 10MB of L3 cache
16GB (4x4GB) of 1866MHz DDR3 ECC
512GB PCIe-based flash storage
Dual AMD FirePro D300 GPUs with 2GB of GDDR5 VRAM each

Why did you buy your Mac Pro? Whats your story?

icarus523

macrumors newbie
Aug 20, 2009
I'll be honest.
I'm an Apple Fanboy, with Money to Burn. i.e. Dual Income no Kids. (DINK).
My most daunting tasks, is contributing to SETI@Home, which you will notice, I am #1 currently for the macrumors.com setiathome team - thanks to the dual d700 and 6 xeon cores.

I have owned a PowerMac G5 dual core 2.3GHz, Mac Pro (3,1), MacBookPro (original Core Duo), MacBookPro (9,1), PowerBook G4, it only made sense to get a Mac Pro 6,1.

edanuff

macrumors 6502a
Oct 30, 2008