Why do I have 2 separate text message counters on AT&T website?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheSpaz, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    Check this out...

    Anyone else have this? Please note: I've never used 3.0 on my iPhone 3G so I've never sent an MMS. I wonder why I have 1 text message sent on the bottom... I don't understand this.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. diemos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
  3. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    or maybe when you switched to the iPhone - you forgot to disable your current plan?

    i'm sure that's not the case because most people i know scan their AT&T bill like it's covered with mistakes
     
  4. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #4
    Not the case... the only phone I've ever had on this number is an iPhone. Also, I've checked my previous bill and I checked my current rate plan and everything is correct... I do not have 2 text message plans active. It's just weird. I usually only see one text message meter.
     
  5. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    I'd call AT&T. I wouldn't want to get more screwed by AT&T than I am already. :rolleyes:
     
  6. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #6
    Well... I've already checked my rate plan... so I know what I'm being charged. If it says unlimited then I must not be charged for it anyways... so, I don't know. I think it may just be a glitch.
     
  7. kage207 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #7
    Yeah that's true but the thing is, you never know with computer systems. As long as things add up, that's good.
     
  8. CoolGuy2550 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #8
    You might have received a international text? That happens with me sometimes.
     
  9. jmccullough108 macrumors 6502a

    jmccullough108

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #9
    It's an AT&T text. That's what they told me at least when I saw that on my account a while back.
     
  10. iphones4evry1 macrumors 65816

    iphones4evry1

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    California, USA
    #10
    I think it is because you closed one plan and opened another, possibly. I just upgraded from 200 text/month to 1500 text/month, and this is what my bill looks like right now. (the old plan was stopped, and the new plan came into effect immediately. odd, but that's what happened)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page