Why do I have to manually add new music to iTunes database?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Imola Ghost, Oct 4, 2009.

1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

Can I have iTunes automatically add new music that I add to my music folder without having to go to:

FILE>
    Add to Library

How come iTunes won't monitor the music location folder where I store the music. I keep all of my music in the default iTunes music folder.

This could very well be the way iTunes works but I'm new to macs and comparing it to previous programs I've used like Media Player, it would consistently monitor the music folder you chose and update or add files when it sees them changed or whatever.

2. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

I have it set so that anytime I download a track, it automatically opens in iTunes, and gets placed in the iTunes Music folder.

If if doesn't do that, you can just drag the file into iTunes, and it will automatically put it in your iTunes Music folder.

3. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

When I download new music I like to make some changes to the actual file before it goes into the iTunes music folder. I like to run the album thru Media Rage and have the files cleaned up like renaming the file to:

track #-track title

And a few other things of personal choice.

Let's say I download a new album and then I put it thru Media Rage. Now that everything is renamed correctly I usually cut & paste the new album into the correct folder where iTunes music is located. I then go to FILE and then ADD TO LIBRARY and point to the new album I just added. Can I just drag the album into the iTunes window and it will add it automatically? How will it store that new album? I'm hesitant to do it this way because I'm not sure that dragging the new album will file it away like I would.

Thanks for your help.

4. rwilliams macrumors 68040

rwilliams