Why do I keep getting this popup about Java?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by rockinrocker, Nov 15, 2014.

  1. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #1
    ....and what do I do about it?

    I tried looking for an update, but there was only a developer preview and it didn't help anyway.

    The window says:

    "To view this web content, you need to install the Java Runtime Environment"
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    That message sounds like you don't have a JRE, not that it needs an update.
     
  3. LV426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #3
    Personally, I avoid any websites that require Java to be installed on my computer. It's a known security risk. If you are required to visit such sites, you would need to install Java to make them work. Such sites are pretty rare these days, though, and the vast majority of users don't visit such places.
     
  4. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #4
    Is that the only reason such a notification would pop up?

    Cause it comes up when I first boot the system...
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Okay... that is different. I sounds like you have a startup application (like maybe Crashplan) that needs Java to run and that is causing the prompt.

    Try holding the shift key at boot to get to safe mode. That bypasses any login or startup items. Does it stop happening in a safe mode boot? If that stops it look in your login items for apps that might be looking for Java to run.

    If you need help with that, run the app Etrecheck and post up the results. That will list those items for us and we can help you out.
     
  6. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #6
    Cool, thanks for the info.
    I won't be able to reboot until later, but in the mean time, any of these that could be a problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    The ones I am familiar with there don't use Java. But I dunno about Candelair or Earthdesk.
     
  8. Pinkstiletto66 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    New York City.
    #8
    Since Yosemite download I get the constant pop. I checked the site, and I it says I have the version I need, so I don't get it. Grr.
     

Share This Page