Why do I suddenly have translucent menus and pinstripped lists?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by J the Ninja, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    It didn't look like this yesterday. Yes, I have 10.5.6.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. edgew8 macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #2
    hmmm, I thought the transparency was always there as was the pin striping. Also the transparency was turned way down on menus in 10.6 to near opaque levels compared to how they look in Tiger and earlier Leopard builds.
     
  3. ajdb9 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #3
    "Why do I suddenly have translucent menus and pinstripped lists?"
    Is this not the norm for Leopard? Certainly I am running 10.5.6 and experiencing exactly the same, but always have, and assumed that it was the 10.5 experience!
    Correct me if I'm wrong - and yours was definitely different beforehand?
    Weird
    :apple: out
     
  4. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #4
    Go to system preferences>Desktop&Screensaver > Uncheck translucent menu bar.

    Pin striping is still there, but no longer trasnparent.
     
  5. J the Ninja thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    That just makes the bar opaque, not the menus that come down from it.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    The real question is, what did it look like yesterday? What you have today is the normal Leopard theme.
     
  7. 01jamcon macrumors 6502a

    01jamcon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    OP, may I ask, did you change your wallpaper since the yesterday? Perhaps you changed from a lighter to a darker coloured wallpaper, which gives the enhanced impression of transluscent menus. This in turn made you realise the pinstripe-ness, which it seems is the same for everyone, me included. It did not just happen, you merely did not realise it until now.
     
  8. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #8
    Weird.. on my desktop that did it.

    But on my new macbook it just changes the menubar... And my menus are not transparent like my desktop :confused: (10.5.6 here as well)
     
  9. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #9
    The translucent menus look different depending on how you have your screen calibrated. It will look different on different screens.
     

Share This Page