Why do people get a mac, and then run windows on it?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 234412, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. 234412 Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #1
    Yeah so how come people run windows on a mac? What improves it in their eyes?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    If you bought a Macbook Pro a Mac Pro it's cheaper then two computers.
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    How about apps that you have but can't use on OS X, or checking websites in IE ??
     
  4. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #4
    I use Windows for Netflix streaming, Legalsounds.com download software, and Windows games (under bootcamp)
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    Are you serious?
    There tons of reasons...

    Work apps
    Gaming
    IE checks
    Special Windows only apps
    The list goes on...

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #6
    Games for me.

    (and probably for many others to) and also a few windows apps (and peeps developing stuff in .net etc)
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    For me - .NET development, conversion of file types without a Mac OS X native viewer (for all except audio)/player (for audio), and a few Windows-only games that don't work well with CrossOver.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Pretty much just games and a few light apps. Sometimes I use it as my main OS when the wireless begins continuously dropping in Leopard.
     
  9. skottichan macrumors 6502a

    skottichan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #9
    Sadly, apps like OpenCanvas 1.1 and Sai haven't been ported (nor will they) to OSX.

    I also use Windows to run games like Mass Effect and BioShock (that is until the PS3 release).
     
  10. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #10
    I guess I am the type who just has to be able to do anything I need to do on my Mac and not do anything on a PC. I still have a PC and use it for a few things--very few. It would be nice to check the behavior of IE on my websites--but--oh well--I guess they can use Firefox if it doesn't look right--and the problem is IE not me anyway. I just keep looking for software alternatives to the things I used on my PC and eventually find the right combination that works for me. Kind of a challenge I suppose for me--to be totally PC-free.
     
  11. chrisesposito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #11
    I teach math courses online, and the course software relies on MathXL, which uses an ActiveX component. This drags in IE, which drags in Windows.
     
  12. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #12
    for microsoft access, which I have to use in college. and gaming. everything else in done in Mac OS X!
     
  13. mcnees288 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
  14. dal20402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #14
    Windows-only VPN client software.

    I almost never boot in Boot Camp anymore, though. Windows (via Fusion) just sits in an out-of-the-way Space... :D ... and hogs 1.5 GB of my 4 GB of RAM. :mad::rolleyes:
     
  15. chrisandersen macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #15
    Quickbooks for the mac still sucks. The only reason.
     
  16. Macmonter macrumors regular

    Macmonter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #16
    You run Windows on your Mac if you...

    - have lots of heavily formatted Word docs from your previous computer life (Pages does a poor job interpreting Word formatting),
    - have lots of b/w pics with a gray scale profile (pics will display with Windows Image Viewer but not with iPhoto),
    - want a travel planning apps on your computer like MS Streets & Trips or Delorme Street Atlas (neither available for Mac),
    - have a website and its HTML translation tool only works with Windows.

    And as time goes on I'll probably run into more Windows only situations. No problem! I have great, well-built, stable Mac hardware that can handle it.

    (BTW, I am logged in to this forum using Safari)
     
  17. 2Shae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #17
    How about...you like the iMac design as a computer, but want to use Windows instead of OS X.

    Not really my thing, but I can see it happen.
     
  18. BenEndeem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #18
    To use Windows only applications without a second computer.
     
  19. hogmog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Thames Valley, UK
    #19
    To use applications:

    - that are only available through Windows and no Mac equivalent exists such as UCINET, NetDraw, Atlas ti and NVivo
    - where the Windows version has more functionality eg SPSS (though i think this is now changing in the current version)
    - where the Windows version is just as good but much cheaper (in the UK anyway) eg Dragon Naturally Speaking vs Dictate

    Apart from some very specialist odds and sods, everything else is created / analysed / managed on a Mac.
     
  20. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #20
    Unfortunately I make my living fixing window's many problems so I do need windows, but also because I am going to school for game programming and guess what, its all in windows too : / Also my math classes rely on MathXL like another user posted and for that you have to run windows.

    But everything else I use is mac.
     
  21. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #21
    As everyone else said, having a Macbook Pro can eliminate the need for a second computer. I barely touch my nice Dell XPS 1730 now ...
     
  22. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #22
    Personally, I can't see any reason. I've never run windows on a mac. There was a brief time when I had a separate windows computer to test web site designs and run QuickBooks. But those days are over -- I can't see myself running windows on a mac in the foreseeable future.
     
  23. joelovesapple macrumors 6502a

    joelovesapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I ran Vista Home Premium on my iMac on Sunday - uninstalled it the next day. It's just a pain to have to update and reboot, update and reboot, every god damn minute.

    That's not the only reason. I quite like Vista and I think it's rather pretty. Next time I'll dedicate a bit more HD to it so that I can get GTA 4 when it's out for the 'PC'.

    It's a good option to have it though, in case you do need it such as for 4oD (as it is still reliant on Windows-only DRM). :rolleyes:
     
  24. ewiesner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #24
    I only use Windows to be able to connect to my company's network. We use Citrix through an internet connection and neither Safari or Firefox has the Active X capability to allow the connection. I've tried to use the Citrix client for the Mac, but I am obviously not smart enough to figure it out. My company's desktop support person can't spell MAC...:(

    iMac 24 2.4 ghz 4gb RAM:apple:
     
  25. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #25
    Have you ever tried to Firmware Upgrade a Nokia Phone?
    Have you ever tried to back up a Nokia Phone?

    This it is impossible to do under OSX and I'd be happy to.. but for some reason Nokia like any other software house is reluctant to build under MAC OS the own programs.
    That's sad!

    By the way... just to let you know... many person now are using they HP, IBM, Dell etc etc. laptops to install Leopard in them.

    That's surely much more weird isn't it? :eek:

    :)
     

Share This Page