Why do people still have contracts?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nikomanz, Sep 26, 2014.

1. Nikomanz macrumors regular

Nikomanz

I'm honestly just curious. I'm an international student here at the U.S. so I have to have an unlocked phone because I move from country to country.

If you have a family plan, or more than one line, a contract is naturally the better choice because of all the money you save. But I don't think it's the same for individual lines.

Here's my argument:

-I bought my iPhone 5c 16gb unlocked 8 months ago with Paypal Credit 6 month no interest financing for $420. I ended up paying it entirely within the first few months and I had a great iPhone unlocked. I even ditched AT&T because they were rude to me and picked up T-Mobile in the same day seamlessly.

- When I really wanted the iPhone 6, I listed my 5c on eBay and it sold immediately for $320.

- I used the $320 and made a downpayment on the iPhone 6 which I paid for using Apple 24 month no interest financing (900 - 320 = 580. 580 / 24 = $24 a month + any service fee) I use T-Mobile which gives me 3Gbs of data for $60 bucks + the 24 payment to Apple it comes out to $84 a month. The same single plan on a contract with a locked phone with At&T comes out to $104 a month! (104 - 84 = 20. 20 x 24 = $480 in savings in two years! And thats having an unlocked phone I can use worldwide.

- Whenever a new phone comes out I'll just wash, rinse and repeat. I basically get very good upgrades at very low payments per month and I end up saving a lot and upgrading at will. Whenever a carrier starts sucking I just switch.

I'm not criticizing anyone's lifestyle or choices. I'm just curious to see if people have reasons to stay in these contracts, with frankly draconian terms, when being contract free (with any carrier, doesn't have to be T-mobile) seems to be have better things going for it. What's your opinion?