Why do we need two images for retina?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by jPuzzle, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. jPuzzle macrumors newbie

    jPuzzle

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    I'm still confused about the whole @2x system having to include two sets of images
    Why can't you just include 1 hi res image won't that automatically get scaled down on a non retina device?

    Thanks Chris
     
  2. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #2
    Because the quality of scaling would deliver compromised quality.
     
  3. cMacSW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #3
    You don't need to do this, but you will get better results across ipod, iphones and ipads at the various resolutions.
     
  4. Scott90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    This, more than anything. Resizing iPad retina quality down to standard quality is definitely noticeable on the 3GS or other non-retina devices.
     
  5. ppilone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #5
    Depending on the size of the images you may also see a memory/performance impact on older devices scaling down large images.

    So your options are provide one hi-res image but sacrifice quality and performance on old devices or provide standard and hi-res versions of the image and not sacrifice anything on any devices.
     
  6. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6

Share This Page