Why do you have to be in WIFI to set date automatically?.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by razor-sex, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. razor-sex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester
    #1
    Hey,
    How come you have to be on wifi for the date to automatically change on 10.6?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    You need an internet connection to access the time servers. WiFi or ethernet will do.
     
  3. razor-sex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester
    #3
    I am on ethernet and it saying turn airport on? :confused:
     
  4. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #4
    You don't need it to set the date / time automatically, you need it to set your time zone + location automatically. It's because it determines your location by what wi-fi areas are around you and comparing it to it's database.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
  6. razor-sex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester
    #6
    Thanks :D
     

Share This Page