Why does AT&T charge $600 just for a deposit ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DBZmusicboy01, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. DBZmusicboy01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #1
    That's total bull....I mean just for a freaking deposit? It's not even an upgrade fee or anything like that and how does AT&T expect someone to pay that kind of money ? If for $50 more we can get it unlocked without a contract.
    How stupid is AT&T they are so heartless and greedy..because of them sprint eliminated their unlimited data. I hate such hate for at&t...I am sure lots feel the same way about this. We all should protest to make att have lower monthly payments. $60 just for 450 minute minutes talk and 300MB that's barely anything for 2012. But yes...the question is why would AT&T want to charge $600 for a stupid deposit? In this economy?....So freaking angry.
     
  2. AFDoc macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado Springs USA for now
    #2
    I assume it's because of your credit or lack there of. I don't pay a deposit and have 5 lines open.

    Plus I don't feel the need to protest as I would pay more with other carriers. Sorry I won't join you in all your anger, it's fun to watch though.
     
  3. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #3
    This. It's in their best interest to charge you the deposit because they don't know if they can trust you to fulfill your contract.
     
  4. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #4
    That is standard for companies to do that if you have a poor credit score. I never had to pay a deposit when I opened my account and I have 3 lines with them now.
     
  5. acatch90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    #5
    Well the phone costs $650? I'm sure it covers part of that
     
  6. faiz23 macrumors 6502

    faiz23

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
  7. Six8 macrumors 65816

    Six8

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Location:
    Earth
  8. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
  9. rangrbob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #9
    I worked at RadioShack and I remember ATT once asked someone to pay a $1200 deposit.
     
  10. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #10
    It's because of a poor credit score on your application. Sorry, but try Sprint, they usually are the most lenient of the big 3
     
  11. gentlefury, Oct 11, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012

    gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    It's based on your credit. If you are a risk you have to put down a huge deposit to prove that you can pay your bill.

    You will get that back after 12 payments.

    Verizon charges $700!

    I used to work for Verizon...basically the lowest credit score gets a super high deposit so you never have to say no to anyone. Telling someone it will be $700 to start a line is basically saying no. But if they can pony up, then they can have a phone!
     
  12. sjc83 macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #12
    it does NOT cover the cost of the phone.

    ----------

    maybe you'd be better off with prepaid or T-Mobile.
     
  13. MassiveAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Be a more responsible person and keep your credit up to par and you wouldn't have these issues.
     
  14. OatmealRocks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #14
    Did you ask them why $600? I agree with other posters.. you probably have no credit or bad credit. Don't buy from AT&T if you do not like their terms. Also if you can't afford it don't get it. I do wish they have unlimited plans though. I agree they are greedy in that regard.
     
  15. acatch90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    #15
    Didn't say it did. What I meant by cover is that the deposit acts as insurance for the rest of the phone cost if you run off with the phone.
     
  16. sjc83 macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #16
    this
     
  17. jaysen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #17
    Anymore direct ? Haha
     
  18. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #18
    Wow judge much??
    Maybe he is a college student without any credit history.
     
  19. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #19
    Should've been smarter... I'm 20, in college, and have great credit. People, you have to prepare for your future so things like this don't happen!!!
     
  20. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #20
    Never paid a deposit.

    Ever.

    Never.

    Ever.

    If your credit is so bad, maybe an Iphone 4 or a flipphone makes more sense for you.
     
  21. praetorx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #21
    No credit = bad credit because credit is built from scratch.

    I speak from experience as same happened to me when I first came to the US and had no credit history. At that time they were asking me for $1000 deposit per line.

    T-Mobile won me as a customer for 2 years for they didn't care about my credit history (yes, I was on a 2 year agreement not month to month plan)
     
  22. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    .....Sprint still has unlimited.
     
  23. OatmealRocks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #23
    Yet he is stating the very rules from AT&T are stupid because of it? Who's wrong here? Any company will require a high deposit if they do not have a good credit rating. Perhaps he should make a more economical purchase than the latest iPhone? or He can ask his parents. First world problems right here!
     
  24. upnorth85 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #25
    I have credit files frozen, and it is a pain to open one or all 3. I thus do not apply for credit and opt to pay full amount when credit is not needed. Most recently Dish had a 2 year contract and free installation with credit check or pay the cost of equipment and no credit check and no contract. I do remember when I moved from AT&T to T-mobile AT&T guy warned me we will need to credit check if you come back!
     

Share This Page