Why does Facebook app override use of cellular data

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gaanee, Jul 16, 2014.

  1. gaanee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #1
    I usually turn-off the cellular data for Facebook app unless really needed and there is no wifi around. But somehow Facebook app overrides it.
    Try this under Settings -> Cellular data turn-off Facebook, close the settings app and open it again, and its on again for Facebook. I don't think it's a bug, because this happens only with Facebook app.
    Is there a way to set this to off without deleting the app?
     
  2. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #2
    I have been noticing the same thing. As many other people here when at home I connect to my comcast wi-fi at home, but as soon as I walk out from home, FB begins to ride the cellular network and uses lots of data today I have used like 24MB and I'm only on AT&T's 2GB/mo share data plan.
     
  3. gaanee, Jul 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014

    gaanee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #3
    How do you check the data usage by individual apps?

    I read the FB app constantly listens to your surrounding sounds to recognize what music/tv shows you are playing, but that uses data. This and the above looks like FB app is sneaking pass, because it turns the cellular data back on. Wonder how how did Apple allowed it.
     
  4. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #4
    Under the on-off tab for cellular data, if you scroll down you'll see individual apps and how much they have consumed.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    It doesn't just listen or always listen, only if a particular desire is enabled and is being used by you: http://www.snopes.com/computer/facebook/facebooklisten.asp

    ----------

    By the way, just tried to reproduce this and it worked just fine for me. The setting stayed at whatever I selected for it. I even disabled WiFi to go to cellular and opened Facebook to try it and got a message that data is disabled for it and that it's offline and that I could change that setting in Settings (as I did). Sounds like something odd is going on with your install/phone.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Turn off the streaming within the settings->Facebook-Settings-auto-play.

    That may help. I agree that FB seems to be using a lot of cellular, I blew my quota this month and near as I can figure it was due to my wife's use of FB.
     
  7. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #7
    When I turn Facebook cellular off it stays off. After I turned it off I tried everything from opening Facebook, closing the settings app, power cycling the phone etc and in settings it stayed off.
     
  8. chestvrg, Jul 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2014

    chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #8
    Why does Facebook app override use of cellular data

    It must be a bug then on some of our phones. Perhaps I need to re start mine I have not done a re start in quite a few months.

    I'll check that auto play setting as well.

    Update: I don't see auto play ???
    [​IMG]
     
  9. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #9

    Click on setting on that screen?
     
  10. eelw macrumors 6502a

    eelw

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #10
    I've noticed this on my iPhone 5 jailbroken with Pangu on 7.1.2 that the toggle doesn't display correctly for many apps. I attempt to turn off cellular for an app, it displays off. But when I re-enter the use cellular data menu, it shows that it's still on. But when I attempt to access data while on cellular, there's no connection. So definitely a bug in the toggle button.
     
  11. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #11

    Thx you I will.
     
  12. mlmwalt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pa, USA
    #12
    I know that I didn't log in to FB in the settings area but rather through the app and only gave it permission to access photos, videos and location services. When I went to log in through settings I found that it was too intrusive. :mad:
     
  13. gaanee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #13
    btw, I am running 7.1.2 and not jailbroken.

    Is there any difference between logging in the FB app and through Settings app?
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    They are essentially connected when you have the app installed.
     
  15. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #15
    I had an app that would toggle cellular data on for itself even after turning it off. Problem went away when I got a new iPhone. Thankfully it didn't cause my to blow my data limit.
     
  16. gaanee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #16
    Looks like this is a bug, because when I open FB app, it says cellular data is turned-off for FB app and asks to turn it on or connect to wifi, but under settings-> cellular data it's showing it's on. After the data is set to off for FB, just swipe back and then again to cellular data shows it's on.
    btw, I am using FB app and not signing in under settings app, if that makes any difference. Signing under settings app sounds too intrusive for sharing on FB.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    Doesnt signing into FB essentially sign you in in the Settings part as well?
     
  18. gaanee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #18
    At least it doesn't show username & password in settings. While using login from settings app, it displayed a message that it will download FB friends, calender events into contacts and enable apps to work with FB.
    Does it merge all contacts with a list of >500?
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    You can turn all those off. Once you sign in the options for apps and contacts and calendar appear there and you just slide them to off for each one and that's basically it.
     
  20. joeblow7777 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #20
    I haven't had this problem myself, and I'm not sure if someone else mentioned this, but are push notifications turned off for Facebook? If you have it turned on, it will always be looking for new content.
     
  21. Woochifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #21
    Did you also switch off the background app refresh with FB? My understanding is that FB constantly updates itself, unless you have that option toggled off. I find the background updating totally useless, since it's not a huge wait for the FB feeds to update when I open the app.

    It seems that lately, they've made numerous changes that burn through data like crazy (most notably, the video auto-play, which you cannot turn off).
     
  22. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #22
    You can turn that off both on the phone (under Facebook settings in the Settings app) and on the desktop version as well (under video or ad settings I believe).
     
  23. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #23
    We recetnly got my mom on our plan and she has been using a LOT more data than she ever used before. I need to look into it but I am guessing facebook is the cuplrit.

    ----------

    Not saying your opinion isn't valid, but I wanted to point out that signing in this way basically just gives iOS the ability to push a photo/video to facebook straight from your camera roll. AFAIK there is no other communication that occurs between facebook and your phone (through the settings login).
     
  24. Woochifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #24
    Where did you find that? I've been poking around the settings for both the mobile and browser apps, and couldn't find anything that disables the video autoplay.
     
  25. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #25

Share This Page