Why does google refresh when I search?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iMJustAGuy, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #1
    I have google as my homepage. Whenever I open safari and type in search criteria and hit enter... it "refreshes" the page and clears what I've written. The second time around always works. I don't understand what is happening. And it is not just when I open safari. I can go to google.com after posting on MR and type in the search box>hit enter>the page flashes as if I had hit the reset button and clears my text>type in the search box again>hit enter - and it works.

    Thanks.

    -Dale
     
  2. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #2
    Here. I just made a screencast of what happens. Check it out after the jump.

    Yeah, yeah double post. :rolleyes:
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    It is curious. I have never seen anything quite like that. When I press [return], I get the results of my Google search.
     
  4. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #4
    ^ Yes, I meant return. (All those long miserable years on a PC:rolleyes:)
    And YES, it is very annoying.
     
  5. Martha Gail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #5
    This has just recently started to happen to me too. I have no idea what is causing it.
     
  6. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #6
    Dangit!
    Well let's narrow this down till we nail this bastard of a problem! lol.

    Do you have a 27 iMac?
    Do you always leave your Mac on and just let it sleep?
    Is google your home page?
    What is your ISP?
    Does your google "bar" remain non-existant until your search results show up as well?
    Uhhh.. IDK anymore Q's to ask, haha.
     
  7. Martha Gail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #7
    My friend just noticed it was saying https://www.google.com/ in the address bar, he took out the s and now it's fine. And it works fine every time I go back to google.com.
     
  8. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #8
    Interestingly enough... YOU ARE RIGHT!!! HOWEVER, whenever I go to the bar and type google.com it automatically takes it too https... is this my ISP? How can I change this?
     
  9. Martha Gail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
  10. iMJustAGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #10
    Reset safari and ALL IS GOOD! THANKS! I love you will you marry me!?
     

Share This Page