Why does iPhone want a data package for push notifications to work?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by benna, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. benna macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    I was just wondering. If my iPhone should me push notification (eg. A reminder from my iStudiez app) I should have data enabled. Why is that? Can't the app just show me a notification when it's the specified time in the phone?
     
  2. ynotm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #2
    because push notifications are pushed to your phone from a server on the internet.
     
  3. benna thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #3
    It doesn't make sense for apple. Why should it be connected to a server when the phone itself can show up a notification when it's time for the notification to be shown.

    It makes sense in the case of IM or other Internet based apps, but on a locally running app?
     
  4. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    Apple doesn't let 3rd-party apps run in the background.

    If you weren't running iStudies when it needed to alert you, it couldn't.
     
  5. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #5
    You are right. This might be fixed in 4.0. The reason why locally running apps have to resort to using push notifications is that 3rd party apps terminate once they exit. For example, if I write an alarm clock app once you leave the app it stops working. The only way to get around this (for now) is to use push.
     

Share This Page