Why does it take so long...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Iggy, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. Iggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #1
    Syncing with my AppleTV is a lengthy affair. It just took 9 minutes to upload a 70mb album. I could just burn a cd! You can only imagine what happens when I want to sync a movie, it's an overnight job. Changing the source on my AppleTV is also frustrating. I tried to time how long the "Loading..." bit took but I gave up after 15 minutes. I did a full factory reset the other day. No luck. My wireless network is all 802.11g and working perfectly normal. What is wrong?
     
  2. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    What's wrong is that you have a wireless g network. It should take a while to sync. Have you tried streaming?
     
  3. Iggy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    #3
    No no no, I understand that 802.11g is slower than n BUT 70MB in 9 minutes? That's 120k a second which is ***** and not normal, I think you'll agree.
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Do you have a laptop you can sit in the same spot as the ATV is? If so try copying files over the network to it and see how fast it is.
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    120/k a second? Sounds pretty damn fast to me, for an 11/g network. I have an Airport Extreme network set to g only and these are the type of speeds I typically get.

    It's crappy, don't get me wrong.
     
  6. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    I have a 802.11g network and it is slow syncing with the appleTV. i only sync a few podcasts. i mostly stream. streaming is fine, even movies. the only time i have a little hiccup is when i try to fastforward or skip a large chunk of the movie, then it basically starts the stream at whatever new point i selected and that takes 30 seconds or so.
     
  7. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #7
    I have "g" network that faces a fair amount of interference from all the neighbors. I don't think I have ever timed it, but I don't think syncing a 1GB movie takes me more than half an hour. I can stream a 4200kbs movie.
     
  8. SthrnCmfrtr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #8
    120K/sec on a Wireless-B network, from one end of an apartment to the other, and through a couple walls, would be barely normal.
     
  9. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #9
    I have g network, and even a couple gigabyte movies only take 20 minutes or so.
     
  10. mcvaughan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #10
    As others have mentioned, there are a number of reasons performance on a wireless network is less than optimal -- interference, range are just a couple.

    What has helped for me is to hardwire my MBP when syncing with my Apple TV. That way, packets are not competing with one another (retransmitting due to collisions) when syncing large amounts of data, such as movies or TV shows.
     
  11. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #11
    Wasn't there a bug with aTVs and syncing where it would take forever and a half to sync a library? I think the solution was to delete the stuff on the aTV and start over and then the sync speed would increase 10x or so.

    ft
     
  12. natasha69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #12
    your signal strength? you transferring from your computer or an external drive through your computer? and if external, on USB 2.0 or 1.1? 70 megs in 9 minutes - something is not setup correctly.
     
  13. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #13
    As always, shut it all down, including the router, then turn it back on. See if that helps.
     
  14. FiveEcco macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #14
    I had the same problem with my ATV and my router. I needed the whole night for 4 GB music.

    The solution was the "Wi-Fi channel number" setting in my router. I changed them to "auto" and it runs with max. speed.

    The problem was that another W-Lan in my area used the same channelnumber. So they collided.

    I hope this will help!
     
  15. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #15
    just syncing my library takes forever. To long to even cosider using it. my Apple TV has been sitting in the box for a few months now, just don't want to waste the time getting it running.
     
  16. kkachurak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #16
    How do I know if I'm running 802.11n?

    I just bought an AirPort Extreme router and I have an Alum 12" PowerBook G4 1.5g. It has an Airport Extreme Card.

    How can I be sure I'm syncing with my :apple:tv through 802.11n?
     
  17. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #17
    Uh...

    Um, you're not.

    Unless you connect your powerbook to your airport extreme via ethernet, you'll be syncing at g speeds.

    If you want n speeds through out, use ethernet or buy a n compatible device.
     
  18. kkachurak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #18
    My PowerBook has an AirPort Extreme card though. Isn't that 802.11n?

    The router is N.
    The appleTV is N.
    The Laptop is N.

    Which device isn't compatible?
     
  19. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #19
    No

    No. Only macbooks and macbook pros have 802.11n cards in them. The reason you're confused is that Apple added n capability to these cards without changing the name.

    802.11b Airport card (early iBooks and Powerbooks)
    802.11g Airport Extreme Cards (late model iBooks and Powerbooks and I think early macbooks and macbook pros, but I could be mistaken)
    802.11n Airport Extreme Cards (current Macbook and Macbook Pros)

    I have the 1.5 ghz, 12" Powerbook you do. It's g enabled and there's no way to add n capability.
     
  20. kkachurak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #20
    When I bought the AirPort Extreme router, it specifically said I would not have to buy the Draft N upgrade on the Apple Online Store (for 1.99) because the CD included it.

    So I assumed I was at least getting Draft N.
     
  21. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #21
    That's IF you had the latest version of the airport extreme card, which, if you have a G4 powerbook, you most definitely do not.

    Sorry man, I really don't know what else to tell ya.
     
  22. macleod199 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #22
    The upgrade can only upgrade the software on machines that have the hardware to support it... 802.11n needs more antennas and other new hardware decoding.
     

Share This Page