Why does iTunes Separate Albums?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Favenris, May 26, 2010.

  1. Favenris macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    [​IMG]

    I made sure that all tags were the same, including album artwork, and I edited all of the album's information at the same time so that it would be the same. But still iTunes seems to see these guys as two separate albums.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Make sure Album and Sort Album match for all tracks.
    Make sure Album Artist and Sort Album Artist match for all tracks.
    If that doesn't correct it, delete the album from your library and re-add it.
     
  3. Favenris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Yeah, I made sure it was all the same. I guess I'll delete it and re-add the album to my library. But why does it happen?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Your screen capture shows "Artist" (which doesn't affect the grouping), but not "Album Artist" (which does), so I wasn't sure. Why does it happen? Other than the track tag info not matching, who knows?
     
  5. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #5
    I get that all the time. Drives me nuts, and I've never figured it out.
     
  6. Favenris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Alright... this is weeeeeird. I capitalized the "i" in Death in June, and it became one album. To test it out, I made it a non capitalized "i" again and it separated itself.

    Whoa.

    I wonder why it does that. Maybe some code defect?
     
  7. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Probably. iTunes isn't exactly well written.
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    I doubt it. More like possibly a corrupted mp3. Try typing the Album title once, copy it, then select all tracks and paste it.
     

Share This Page