iPhone why does my 6.1.3 blobs say 7.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by shatheone, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. shatheone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #1
    i saved my 6.1.3 blobs a couple days ago right before i updated. even though i heard you cant downgrade from ios 7, figured doesnt hurt to save one. now im hearing that you can only downgrade only if you a.) have a A4 device and b.)have a shsh blob.

    so when i go to the blobs i saved when i was on 6.1.3, it has a 7.0 at the end of it, does anyone know why?
     
  2. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #2
    It does not matter what firmware is on your phone when you save Blobs you save the version that apple is signing. Since they are signing 7 you save 7.
     
  3. shatheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #3
    oh wow thats ****ed up, so because i saved my ios 6 blobs after apple stopped signing them, they dont count. thats messed up

    does anyone think we will ever be able to downgrade ios 7? maybe through some exploit in the future, or somethin
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    For a5 and up devices? Very little chance. But always save your blobs while Apple is signing each new firmware just to be safe!
     
  5. shatheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #5
    well i did that, but it seems you have to not only save your blobs, but do it before apple stops signing them.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    You are not understanding...

    The version of firmware on your iDevice is irrelevant to which SHSH Apple is signing.

    Just because your iDevice had 6.1.3 firmware on it, that does not mean you can save the 6.1.3 SHSH (iFaith can be an exception to this)

    The only SHSH that can be saved is the version Apple is signing at the time you initiate the save SHSH operation.
     
  7. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #7
    I jailbroke my iphone 4 after the signing window for 6.1.3 closed, and therefore cydia saved my blobs after the window had closed, yet cydia is reporting that my blobs for 6.1.3 are saved. Is this incorrect?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Phones do not have to be jailbroken to save SHSH.

    Whichever firmware was being signed by Apple at the time you saved will be the version that were saved.
     
  9. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #9
    Ah - I just asked you this on another thread. Thanks for answering. So this means that Cydia is announcing a blob for 7.0 as a blob for 6.1.3! So we can't trust Cydia's blobs still?

    ----------

    Or did Cydia autogenerate the SHSH for me before the signing window closed? (I am a lonnnnnnng time Cydia user with this phone (since 4.0!))

    ----------

    If this is true it would be big news - it might mean even people who thought they lost their chance to save a blob already have it on Cydia's files. :-D
     
  10. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #10
    Hang on - I remembered that I was using jailbroken 6.1.2 for a long time while 6.1.3 was being signed. Cydia might have saved the blob then.
     
  11. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
    It is old news….
    Cydia saves your SHSH's automatically for a loooong time.

    It gives your available SHSH's in the TSS center, it used to show on top of the main page of Cydia.

    No, Cydia did not annouce your 7.0 blob as a 6.1.3 blob, you misunderstand how it works, do some research on here or google.

    The Cydia auto saved 6.0-6.1.2 blobs are invalid, also old news.
     
  12. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #12
    Hmmmmm, typing something helpful would have taken fewer keystrokes.
     
  13. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #13
    Asking questions on subjects that are well know facts and frequently posted on this forum is even less helpfull….
     
  14. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #14
    I know "noob" questions are a bit annoying, but there seems to be actual doubt and discussion here about whether a 6.1.3 downgrade is currently possible. I was hoping Cydia's autosaving might help those who are stuck at 7.0 without blobs, but it seems not.
     
  15. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #15
    Doubt on your part, not ours…

    An iP4 with VALID manually saved with TU, redsn0w or iFaith blobs you can restore to 6.1.3, just not with the autosaved Cydia blobs which are invalid, that also has been discussed many times in multiple threads.
     
  16. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #16
    There's a lot of doubt and misinformation on this forum I'm afriad. I just clicked through about 4 threads with incorrect information (e.g. that you restore with redsnow), but thanks for clarifying.
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    You can restore with Redsn0w, but not for firmware above 6.0 (since Redsn0w has not been fully updated)

    If you spend any time here browsing threads - that is how one moves from n00b to amateur, which is the 1st step - you will learn that if TriJetHero posts something, it will be accurate !
     
  18. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #18
    If you think there is a lot of misinformation on this forum then don't read it or don't participate.

    This subsection is very active and is monitored closely by the regulars which correct (most if not all) wrong information.

    Most posters and certainly regulars are glad to help but they do expect people to do the basic research themselves, we rarely hold hands here.

    In the threads you rread you'll see that the sn0wbreeze option is offered as an alternative for redsn0w.
     
  19. danb77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #19
    I wasn't criticising the forum. I think its great! But forums are there for asking questions and I think it is fine for noobs to dip their toes in here. Let's not chase them away.
     
  20. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #20
    Fine, but do try to put some effort in research, it is more efficient to help yourself than to ask all kinds of questions for which an answer is readily available.
     
  21. shatheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #21
    So long story , its not that I saved em wrong, its cuz I saved them Ayer 6.1.3 was not being signed, hm. So even if I did them ifaith at the time, it wouldn't have made a difference
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    The second part of your post is still not correct - why is this so confusing to you ????

    If your phone is a 3GS or iPhone 4 and you were on firmware 6.1.3, iFaith could have saved your 6.1.3 SHSH using the firmware on your phone.

    I already posted that iFaith was an exception to the which firmware Apple is currently signing
     
  23. shatheone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #23
    Yeah to be honest I thought tiny umbrella was the defacto standard for saving blobs, I haven't heard heard of Ifaith until this month. I did save them manually under tinyumbrella, they weren't auto saved. Seems that ifaith is better so I'm not sure why everyone still pushes TU
     
  24. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #24
    Perhaps it has to do something with the fact that iFaith is windows only, not everyone has access to a windows machine.

    Did you save them directly from Apple with TU or did you have Request SHSH from Cydia selected in the advanced settings?
     

Share This Page