Why does my iMac keep unlocking itself?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Harfdaft, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. Harfdaft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Southwestern Australia
    #1
    Hi all, Les here. First post on this forum, hoping it's in the right place, My user name reflects my knowledge of computers so I may ask some seemingly daft questions from time to time but I do listen & learn!
    My first question is regarding the little padlock in the Network window, quite often when I open this window to search for my Wi-Fi, the padlock is open. I lock it every time but it just opens itself at random.
    Any ideas why?
    I'll be offline for a while. I'll be back later, thanks in advance for any replies.
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    I just got 10.8(3) on a new Mini, before on 10.5.8 on my PB it was quite simple, there was one setting which requires you to enter a password if the Auto lock was set.
    Seems it's a bit different now in ML.
    I found something in the Security and privacy Preference Pane, click on Advanced to get this drop down window.
    See screenshot.

    But, I think I know why, you have to manually lock it, I just did, closed System Prefrences, opened it again and in Network it is now locked.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    Yep, had the same thing here...Only seems to do it on the Network settings dialogue though.....The one thing you DON'T want others messing with:D
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    So, another ML bug, too many of them although 10.8.3 seems to be better than 10.8.2.
     
  5. Harfdaft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Southwestern Australia
    #5
    I have version 10.7.5, I found the window in your screen shot. The lock was locked I opened it ticked "ask for administrator password to make changes in preferences"
    then clicked on ok. ( I hope that was the right thing to do)
    Now I've locked it again, I'll keep an eye on the lock in the network screen & see if it opens itself any more.

    Cheers, Les
     

Share This Page