Why does my MACBOOK Pro fan run all the time?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by exindigo, Jun 25, 2016.

?

Why does my fan run all the time?

  1. Printer with hung document

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Mcaffee software reinstall

    5 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. exindigo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    #1
    I was having a problem with my fan running all the time. I went to the Finder, Go, Utilities and started the activity monitor. It turned out the Vshieldscanmanager was eating up 100% of the CPU. I called Mcaffee which is now owned by Intel and got tech support. They told me that if I skip autoupdates, the software builds lots of logs and these are accessed overtime the update function tries to decide whether it needs to update or not. So Mcaffee tries to keep scanning looking for update continuity. It slows everything down and completely uses all the CPU it can. Solution: Get with a tech support rep and they will walk you through the uninstall process and indicate where all the hidden files are located then direct you to reinstall the software.

    I did and no fan since reinstall.

    I had tried the printer solution where a hung job in a printer that is unconnected of off, will constantly try to access the network but even if that is the case and you have Mcaffee installed, and your fan is running, you need to COMPLETELY uninstall Mcaffee and reinstall.
     
  2. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  3. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    people still use mcafee in 2016? op you'll probably be fine without running any antivirus on your system as long as your keep the rest of your applications as up to date as possible.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Your fan runs all the time because software is utilizing your CPU which in turn generates heat.

    I don't use an antivirus on my Mac and I've never had an issue. Maybe I've just been lucky.
     
  5. Brandon0448 macrumors 6502

    Brandon0448

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #5
    Uninstall Mcafee, I have never used antivirus on any Mac I have ever used. All it is doing is wasting valuable CPU time. Just don't go installing random stuff you find on the internet and you will be fine. Only install applications from trusted and well known developers.
     
  6. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    There are no virus in the wild for OSX. Save the planet, don't use antivirus software on a personal machine.
     
  7. MRBobFPL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    #7
    A reinstall? Really? What a pile of you know what. I checked to see if there was a way to manual update the product as this was a response from the support person. There is no manual method that I could locate. I'm a former mainframe systems programmer and this a program design flaw and a reinstall doesn't necessarily fix the problem. The copy I have installed is a free one from my service provider ATT.
     
  8. Toutou macrumors 6502a

    Toutou

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #8
    Fixed that. :D
     
  9. wjw0111 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    #9
    That's right. Except do not reinstall it. You don't need bloatware like McAfee on a Mac (or Norton or any such things).

    Congrats and welcome to the Mac world! Enjoy not having to deal with software like that any more!
     
  10. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014

Share This Page